A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

It’s All About Me

YAY! I got tagged in the 10 random facts about me thingy! Thank you, thank you, Vix! As if you don’t know enough already. I love coming up with new things to divulge about myself.

  1. I’m afraid of pretty much every animal. Baby lizards set me off into fits of screaming, jumping, and climbing. Seriously. I make myself look like a crazy person. Before AND after people around me realize what my problem is. That being said, it’s probably no shock that I don’t like animals. At all. The only ones I have any sort of interest in or kinda like are elephants and turtles. And of course, the wild, crazy ones like tigers. COOLNESS! But I’d only like the wild stuff to pet and take pictures with. That’s it. And I think peacocks are kinda cool. I like fish in aquariums. Those are the only pets I’d ever care to have. Because they’re pretty and add a little something to the ambiance. The water and everything. And they don’t leave fur or poop all over the place.
  2. I never drink from cans or bottles. No, wait. VitaMalt is always better from the bottle. It’s not the same once it has been poured out of the bottle, or sipped through a straw. Actually, VitaMalt in the can is awful. Nothing like the same greatness bottled. Other than that, I need a cup or a straw. Oh, water is an exception too. Water tastes AWFUL when sipped through a straw, doesn’t it?
  3. Of all the things in the world, I would most like to be a SAHM (stay-at-home mom) and housewife. It would suit me perfectly. I love a clean house. Cleaning the house is kind of like a religious experience for me. At times, I play a little music, and get in the zone, and BAM! I’m done. Then I revel in the total cleanliness and fresh scent of my home. At other times, I move through the house in silence, and clear my head. And the kitchen. Dear, sweet, holy goodness. Cooking and baking?! YES, PLEASE! I love a well-stocked kitchen. All the better for preparing favourite meals, and experimenting with new ingredients and/or untested combinations of ingredients. I LOVE IT. That should really be my life. Honestly. Of course, I’d spend a good bit of time blogging, and maybe even run a little home business. *shrugs* Busy bee is what I like to be. Actually, I’d even like to home-school my children for a little while. I think doing it all their lives would be an injustice to them.
  4. I really really really love food. Like, REALLY really. I am a foodie. I love grocery shopping, planning menus in my head, coming up with new ways to season things and put twists on otherwise ordinary dishes, cooking, baking, eating, sharing, getting and sharing reviews, eating out, finding cool new restaurants, figuring out what restaurants’ best menu items and strong points are… The entire process. Food, food, food. LOVES it!
  5. I like music. A lot. Lots of genres are okay with me. I can rock out, I can belt out (or lip sync) ballads, I can sway to R&B, I can sing-along to stupid, catchy pop songs, I can “buss a wine” to reggae tunes… I like pretty much any type of music. One of my favourite things to do is discover new music. I love finding out about (almost) unknown bands and singers (you know – the YouTube people who don’t get featured on Fox News), LOVING their music, getting it any way that I can, and waiting for them to be great. And of course,  proving my awesomeness to myself when I refrain from saying, “Yeah, well I knew about them 2 years before they have a video on MTV” when everyone starts talking about the new artist/band they suddenly LOVE. I’m now following a few people on WP who share their music finds, and OMgoshness! Love and appreciate it. New tunes for my iPod! WOO!
  6. I thrive on challenging myself. I’m constantly setting goals, and annihilating them. I do big things. Then I have a lull where I’m just normal. Ya know… Like you. (Kidding. Or not.) Then, I get all Oh-my-goshness!-I-should-totally-do-this-amazing-thing-just-because-I-KNOW-I-can-KILL-it. And then I think about it. THEN I research it to DEATH. Yes. To death. I find out everything I can. I go to about.com and read blogs and YouTube it and all this stuff. Then I get caught up in things that are remotely related to it. By that point, I’m completed obsessed with the whole brilliant idea, and want to blow my own mind, so I get AMPED-the-heck-UP. And I do it. E.g. Running. I read a blog post about SHOES. Running shoes. It made me think about running. I did a little reading on running. I wondered if I really hate running. No. I never really ran to know. Hmmm… I should run. I could probably do it. Hell. What am I saying?! I can SO run. ESPECIALLY if I get those super cool shoes non-shoes. Yeah. I’m gonna run. Wait. What’s the challenge gonna be? What do runners do? Hmmm… MARATHONS. Yeah. I’m gonna marathon up in this mother! YES. Wait. That’s a lot… Blah, blah, blah. Then I decided to train for a 5k. And I (window) shopped online for gear. Everything running-related. Shoes, non-shoes, hydration belts, cool, funky shorts (because I will NOT be running in boring pants. No, ma’am!)… You see what I mean here? Challenges. And obsessions. I like ’em. Stay posted.
  7. I struggle with water drinkage. Majorly. It’s a work in progress. I have to be very conscious and conscientious about it. I keep my 32oz. water bottle on my desk at work. Sometimes, I play little games with myself. E.g. Every time the phone rings, I drink two mouthfuls of water. Every time I heard a word used or pronounced incorrectly, I drink two mouthfuls of water. Weird? Funny? Whatever. Gotta do what ya gotta do! I’m getting there. Today, I’m not winning. I’ve had about 4oz. I know, I know. But listen… Two days ago, I only had 2oz. left in my bottle when I got home, and I finished it off when I got there. And yes, I know 32oz. is only half of what I should be drinking. Let me tell you this: Previously, I would go two weeks without having water AT ALL. See that there? Progress.
  8. I often lament about not having any talents. Particularly of the artistic sort. I wish I could draw. I wish I could paint. I wish I could sing. I wish I could dance. I wish I could sculpt random things and call them “art.” I wish ANYthing that ever leaves my hands (after being worked on or transformed in some way) could be called “art.” *sighs* It’s just not in me. I complain about this to Babe (who is a singer/songwriter), but of course, I get that indulgent, “there, there, pussycat” stuff. “You are talented. You’re a great writer…” Right. That’s why you’ve never asked me to co-write a song with you. 😦 Oh, well. You like me, don’t you? Or my blog… Is that art?
  9. I secretly want to own and run a bakery. Brownies, cookies, cupcakes, cakes, muffins… Fun stuff. I want to take a cake decorating class. I want to learn to properly and prettily ice/frost cakes, work with fondant, etc. When will I be able to do this? I don’t know. It really may not be in this lifetime. But I really, really hope that it is. I love baking. And I’m pretty good at it. I want to share it with the world. But it has to look BETTER than good. I can decently frost a cake, but by bakery standards? Remember what I said about my artsiness? The fact that I lack it? Yeah. That.
  10. I make up words. And then I use them like they’re real. E.g. Artsiness, drinkage, foodage, goshness… I feel fine about adding “ness” and “age” to pretty much any words I need to use or make into a different part of speech. I see that as my right. I am a lyricist. A WRITER, dang it. If only by that definition where a person who does something is a somethinger. E.g. A cook is a cooker. Well, no. That didn’t work. A person who plumbs (does plumbing) is a plumber. Which reminds me, it cracks me up (and sometimes annoys me) that every Nancy and Bob with a camera calls her/himself a photographer. Seriously, you’re a hobbyist. Or whatever. Get off it. LOL.
Annnd, those are 10 random facts about me. I keep proving to you that I may be slightly insane, don’t I? You’re welcome. I know you appreciate my upfrontness (<—One of my originals). Hearts and butterflies, y’all! 🙂
Oh, WAIT! I have to tag 4 people to do this funness (<—Another. And I’m SO not doing this on purpose)!
Comments on: "It’s All About Me" (10)

  1. Glad you liked my blog and the music! Got a lot more to share so stay tuned 😀 new to this blogging thing.
    Really like your layout and colour schemes, excellent stuff! 😀 x

  2. I am so going to start playing the drinking game. I am so bad about drinking water. I have started keeping track of how much I drink or should I say how much I don’t drink. This past week I have been doing good but I know that it will slip off here soon.

    • I read your first sentence, and was like, “Wait. What did I blog about again?” Hahahaha. Yeah, you should play the game for sure. I tried those little flavour packets. Not my flavour at all. It pretty much tasted like water from a not-so-well-cleaned container that I had Kool-Aid in it the day before. To me. My sister used to use Crystal Light and made me try her lemonade flavour. It was okay.
      But wait. This is what confuses me. If we flavour the water, how is that different from just drinking Kool-Aid or tea? It’s just water added to flavour. How come tea doesn’t count as water? If that doesn’t count, should flavoured water count? Is it because “water” is in the name? I’m confused. Can you tell?

  3. YAY for making up words and challenging oneself. And boo for not drinking enough water. I do all of these things.
    Maybe we are soul mates?!?! (besides the fact hat being a stay at home mom would probably drive me CRAZY! you are a stronger woman than me hahaha)
    ps:i will come to your bakery!

    • I was thrilled to see you making up words on your blog. That stuff gives me LIFE! Hahahaha. And yeah… We may be soul mates. Or what I like to call “Brain Twins.” You’re my brain twin!
      And YAY! A potential bakery visitor. (I won’t call you a customer, ’cause Brain Twins get treats for frizzle!)
      Also, I’m thinking about doing my half marathon in Dallas, b/c I guess that’s closer to Austin than The Bahamas is, and I figured we could get get drinkage or something. That’s a 2012 plan though.
      Note: Frizzle – Free

  4. i love reading all about my blog buddies. I have a hard time drinking water too. I have to put stuff in it, like Crystal Light or other such flavorings, to get it down.

    • Yeah, it’s fun, right?! 🙂
      Drinking water, when you’re not used to it, is HARD. Last year, when I made a huge effort, for the first 2 weeks, I was getting up at all hours to go to the bathroom. I was not impressed. I’m taking it slower this time, so it’s okay.
      Flavour packets, me no likey so much. 😦 I have to struggle with the tastelessness.

Leave a Reply

