A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

VisDare 31: Paperdolls

Here’s a short story I whipped up a few minutes ago. The photo prompt seemed a bit too obvious to me. I didn’t want to end up in the same place n other writers did, so I used it solely for inspiration and not topic. I let it lead to a completely different mental image. Is that cheating? Probably not. The photo prompted the idea for this story, and I wrote the requisite 150 words. So there. 🙂

Click the (prompt) photo to be lead to the host page for VisDare.

Image

Paperdolls

Passersby stop, lingering for a while. It’s hard not to gawk at them. They look ridiculous, all dressed up and lined off like that. Some people pose with them for cutesy touristy pictures.

It’s funny, the idea of powerful paperdolls. They’re well equipped for whatever may transpire, on the off chance that anything ever does. This is downtown. Central Nassau. Crowded and full of life, no one ever dares to step out of line here. Not even the paperdolls.

They wear those impractical uniforms with pride. The long, dark pants, long-sleeved high-neck tunics, limp belts, and white gloves make no sense. It’s hot. Sweltering, really. The funny looking hats barely fit. All it would take is one swift wind and they’d take flight.

Wave lines of traffic through the intersection. Smile at tourists. Pose for pictures. Sweat.

Horrible job. I guess that’s the trade-off for the right to bear arms.

Image

Photo source: Bahamas Press
(Don’t visit there looking for real news. It’s sensational rubbish.)

—–

Yes, this is making fun of the local authorities. Well… Their uniform. Because it’s my story, and I can do that. And they look silly. Arrest me. I (vis)dare you. Hehehe.

Comments on: "VisDare 31: Paperdolls" (12)

  1. summerstommy2 said:

    I like this story Alicia. And why not tell it. I agree there is a sense of the ridiculous about military uniforms designed to b imposing and impressive. Well done.

    • Thank you!
      Particularly in the heat of The Bahamas, to me, it would make more sense for them to wear uniforms of light cotton. Breathable, light cotton. And shorts. But they are not the only ones. Formal business suits also look quite ridiculous in this climate. I wish someone would tell them that these standard were British imposed, and now that this is an “independent” country, it may be time to do something that makes sense for HERE. GAH!
      Ok, sorry. Got a little ranty there. Thanks for stopping by and reading! 🙂

  2. Love this!!! And of course you can take the photo prompt in any direction that the muse prompts you. It can be literal or figurative – however it speaks to you. Love what you’ve done with this one — it makes the soldiers almost comical, the gravity of their position in counterpoint to the “paper doll” aspect of what they really are. Thanks for a great VisDAre!

  3. summerstommy2 said:

    I relate to what you are saying things are not so different in Australia.

  4. Interesting! Your mind works in mysterious ways.

  5. Another great read! Ending with a great song! I love it! 😛

    • Woot, woooot! Glad you enjoyed it, girl!
      Whenever that song comes on, I become another person. Like some terrible 80s popstar or something. People passing me in traffic probably think I’m nuts, but III don’t carrrrre! Hahaha.

  6. I like the story! The fancy military uniforms are kind of silly, unless their goal is for the service people to have heat stroke.

Leave a Reply

