A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Because YES!

Shaunanagins

“I’m looking for a woman with values.”

Whenever I hear these words, I cringe.

I thumb the crosses on my bracelet and clutch my beer.  I talk about charity, then I tell a dirty joke.  Do these things cancel each other out?

Those words are powerful. They transform me into a little, obedient, people-pleasing ladytype. It doesn’t matter whether I’m actually interested in the person who wants a “woman with values” (usually, I’m not).  It doesn’t matter how confident I am in what I stand for or what I do on any other day. There is a person in the room ready to judge if I am a good woman. If I would be a good mother. If I would be a good wife. And I don’t like that I respond to that by melting into conformity, but I do. I drip with semi-sweet small talk. I rarely seek…

View original post 959 more words

Comments on: "What Does it Mean to be a “Woman with Values,” Exactly?" (2)

  1. Thanks for reposting this. Had never come across Shauna’s blog before but the post was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

