A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Hey, y’all! It’s been a while, I know. Sorry! There’s been a lot going on. Family things, illness, writing, job hunting… There hasn’t been much time for personal blogging.

Camp NaNoWriMo is coming up. WOOHOO! Those of you who’ve been around for a while know about NaNoWriMo. It’s National Novel Writing Month. Every November, people all over the world attempt to write 50,000 words in 30 days. Camp is pretty much the same thing, but a bit cool. There are two Camp sessions – one in April and one in July. For each session, participants can choose their own word count goals (anywhere from 10,000 to 999,999). There is also a Cabin Mate system where people can sign up for 5 cabin mates. The computer system picks based on preferences like age, genre, amount of activity, and requested buddies. The “Cabin” is a private message board for the 6 people in it to chat and interact. Cool, right?

So, yeah. I’m doing Camp. I STILL have not finished The Whispering Willow, so I’m dragging that WIP into the tent with me. The plan is to FINISH that, and start a new novel which will be the first in a series. LGBT series. Yezzir! I’m all risk-takey and stuff. Hehehe.

I spent some time working on my characters for the series last night. I did the basic work on it last year, but it needs beefing up. I like having complete, 3d characters before I start writing. I like to know their birthdays, physical appearances, hobbies, family life, backgrounds, favourite music, etc. I go deep. I’m going to try to finish that off tonight while watching tv shows. Yes, I also like a little distraction sometimes.

So what have you been up? I’m going to check out my Blogs I Follow list and catch up as much as I can, and comment, comment, comment. But if something crazy happened like a week ago, catch me up in the comments!

Also, check out this week’s 100 word story on my blog. 🙂 Please comment and share. I’m really trying to increase my readership (and mailing list) right now. It’ll really count when it’s time for publication. Did I mention that you get a FREE MP3 of a song by a really amazing artists I know just for signing up? Well, ya do! Get on it!

Comments on: "Camp NaNo and 100 Word Story" (11)

  1. I’m doing NaNoWriMo too 🙂 First time ever, kinda excited and loving the whole ‘cabin’ set up :)x

    • AWESOME!

      Are you writing a novel, or something else? Word count goal? Looking forward to getting updates from you on how it’s going. Will you be blogging about it?  

      ________________________________

      • It is kinda awesome :P. Yep I just restarted a novel I’ve had in mind/ been writing half-assededly (thats TOTALLY a word), word goal 25k but hoping to go over :). I have no idea if I’ll blog about it. I’m hypersensationalism on there too…:) Best of luck xx

  2. I started NaNoWriMo in ’06 and think I stopped or my last was ’11? It’s a fun time if you can make time. The ‘camps’ are a newer variety (oh, and I did ScriptFrenzy from its 1st year through about ’11).

    • Cool! I think my first year was probably ’06 too!

      How did I not know you were a participant? 

      Yeah, Camp is fairly new. There’s no Script Frenzy this year. Not enough funding. So all the scriptwriters will be Campers. One big, happy, insane family. 🙂

      Gonna give it a go this year? [very sing-song, convincing tone] You can set you own word cooount.  

      ________________________________

      • I started a writing group and ran it all those years. I stopped ’12. We met year-round all that time but would go weekly or more than once weekly during Screnzy or NaNo. I’ve served that community! (and never got any help from Nano as I wasn’t a ML; live too far out from any cities but did it on my own).

        I can’t go poo, I have no time. Working FT (with commute=about 55hrs a week — or MORE due to weather) and this MIT masters class is very demanding (minimum 10 hours a week).

        • Oh, right! I forgot about the class.

          Well good on you, doing that for all those years. This year, you can live vicariously through me, and my incessant tweets.  

          ________________________________

  3. Hi friend!!!! Going over to read your story now….

  4. Aww it says The link is broken :/?

Leave a Reply

