A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Date Day 1

Babe and I had our first in a series of dates for this year on Saturday. We’ll do one per week for three weeks, then one per month, following the Date Night Challenge Stacey blogged about. We’d planned to go downtown and play some frisbee. It ended up being a very full day. We got up and out the door fairly early for a run-walk. It felt good to get outside and do something. After that, we had showers and breakfast. I don’t remember what was next, but Babe definitely conked out on me. She had a nap, and I was left to my own devices for a while.

Image

Look at all the Happy Mail I got! 😀

Finally, we got out the door again. We went downtown and did a little shopping for my swap addiction. I needed to find cool souvenir items to send to my swap buddies. IT only took three stores to get everything I needed. We walked to the park we wanted to play frisbee in, and it was a pretty long walk. Maybe 20 minutes? By the time we got there, I said, “I’m not gonna lie, Babe… I feel like we’ve already worked out and can’t even play frisbee for too long.” She said, “Me too!”

Well, you know me… We didn’t walk all the way there for nothing. We tossed the frisbee back and forth for about 15 minutes. It was fun! Even more fun than I’d expected. Even when I got tired, I was reluctant to stop. Haha.

Image

Sign at our favourite restaurant/stall

We went across the street to the ever-popular Fish Fry which is a strip of restaurants and food stalls. We treated ourselves to conch fritters and daiquiris. We walked another 5 minutes to the beach where we found a rock to sit on and enjoy the rest of the afternoon. A third wheel appeared, but it flew away when it saw me pulling me out my camera to get evidence. Damn seagulls!

Image

My conch fritters bring all the birds to the yard!

daiquiris

Pina Colada and Strawberry Mango daiquiris. 🙂

By the time we got home, we were both feeling relaxed and happy, commenting that it was a very nice day. Salad for dinner and tv shows for entertainment and the day felt quite done and well-lived.

And yes… We broke the rules. We’re doing our dates during the day. REBELS!

What did you do on Saturday? When’s the last time you dated your partner? Will you do the Date Challenge?

Comments on: "Date Day 1" (12)

  1. some of ours will be day dates or afternoon dates. Its all good, as long as you are actually doing it! so excited you ladies are doing this too 🙂

    • I always have to find a rule to break. Lol.
      Seriously though, because we don’t have a car, days work better for us with all the walking. We may manage to make a few actual date nights if we can borrow a car. With that too, days are easier. *Shrugs*
      Thanks for sharing. Seeing your post was very timely for us. 🙂

  2. Babe and I need to do this.

  3. Sounds like a lot of fun! I attended the first full day of a workshop. It was too long and didn’t provide what I hoped for (it provided a lot–just not for ME). I’m going to the other full day but may not make the whole day…I feel bad about it but I’m still gimped up (my spine) from sooooo many hours ‘locked’ into a chair. I always say that I’m a desk jockey at my job but *apparently* that’s not really the case!

    • Ugh. Sitting for too long is a horrible feeling. It’s nice to be able to walk around a bit and stretch. I hope the next workshop day is better suited to you and your needs. If not, ask a bunch of questions. Ignore the groans of all the people whose nerves you’re getting on. Haha.

      • It’s meant for CEOs. It’s truly not meant for me. I have NO reservations on asking questions and DID. It’s just…I don’t know how to describe but it’s like attending a doctor’s conference and they’re all talking about intricacies. It *was* a room full of Ph.Ds and MBAs. If I were interested in *that,* it would be great. I’m not. It’s not my gig. They did a poor job of explaining what it was about. That said, I paid a FRACTION of what this company usually charges and you can’t even get this as an individual. That’s why I’m still considering going to the second. I started falling to pieces (4 herniations in my cervical spine alone) only 2 hours into it. That’s 90 minute drive BOTH ways and 8.5 hours of workshop. I’m taking RX still from Saturday. No bueno, I’m afraid!

  4. Oh what I great idea! I can’t even remember when Hubby and I had a “date” by ourselves. Hmm, it wasn’t long ago, Oh! when we found out the gender of the baby and we went to lunch 🙂 It is always good to be with the person you love and I love the date idea.

  5. It sounds like a great idea. I think that I am going to need to suggest this to hubs. We try to go out occasionally, but we always seem to get side tracked.

  6. Sounds like a lot of fun. Hubs and I used to do Date Night, and then we kind of fell out of the routine because it got too hard trying to find a babysitter. We need to get back to doing that though.

    • It was. 🙂 Every week probably isn’t feasible for everyone. Once a month should be more workable. The program we’re following is once per week for three weeks, then one per month. Not sure why it’s set up that way. Maybe to start the habit?

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

