A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Oh, January!

Heyaaaaa!

Happy End of the Holidays!

My gosh, they took forever to go away, didn’t they? I’m not against the holidays, really. I like a day off from work as much as anyone else. I have a LOT to do with days off. Things just seem to go crazy around that time of year. There’s always certain sense of relief when it’s over and done with.

I am in some serious limbo right now, folks. The job I was hoping for is not coming through quickly enough. They haven’t even started interviewing yet. Meanwhile, I’m working part-time and my brain feels like it’s deteriorating. I’m not feeling challenged at all, but that’s no big surprise.

I guess this is a good time to dive into my writing. In December, I did quite a bit of work on my short stories. I wrote two or three new pieces, jotted down some ideas for new ones, and did a bit of editing. It was a pretty productive month for Alicia, the writer. January, on the other had, has been dead. Well. I’VE been dead. It’s almost mid-month, and I have nothing to show for it. Except for four or five submissions I need to make by the end of the month. Perhaps I should start working on ’em now? Maybe? Hahaha.

So far, I’ve made one submission this month, and I doubt it will be accepted. It’s a short story in list form for a compilation of list-form stories. Crazy, right? But since I think it won’t cut it, I’m going to rewrite it traditionally. I think it could really be a great piece with some work. That’s my first project, and I plan to complete it by Sunday. Then, I have three new stories to write for the end of month submissions.

I’m going to be in GO, GO, GO! mode for a while. I haven’t even told you about my new venture, but I will soon! That’s enough unloading for one post. ๐Ÿ™‚

My next post will be lighter. I’ll show you my Christmas prezzies. ๐Ÿ˜€

What are you up to these days? How’s January lookin’?

Comments on: "Oh, January!" (17)

  1. Oh January is a big mess over here. It seems like time is on FAST, and by the time I get anything done it is time to restart the day. I haven’t got nothing done, and I should be packing, just in case we find a place to move. It is good to see you are alive, so to speak. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope the holidays were good to ya.

    • Isn’t it crazy how time flies when you have things to do? I guess that’s where making lists and being realistic about daily goals comes in handy. Before I make up my mind to do a million things, I literally sit and imagine a clock, and let the hours ticks on by while I list the things I can seriously get done. Sounds crazy, but it tends to work.
      I’m glad to see all is well with you. I’m hoping you find somewhere soon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Good luck with everything, girly! I know it’s all gonna turn out great! And I still wanna read your stories one day!
    Also, can’t wait to see your Christmas presents! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks, Christina! I pack all the positive energy people like you send me and carry it around in my pockets every day. Haha.
      I’m hoping to get SOMEthing published this year so I can send links, and republish on my website. I just can’t share them now because they’d be considered “published” and no journal or magazine would accept them. Bummer!
      I will try to post about the Christmas prezzies soon. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. January is already super busy – busy, seems like there is always work to be done; but I’m up for it and excited for a productive year!

    • Woot, woot!
      Just make sure you balance, balance, balance! Busy doesn’t always mean productive, and a well rested brain is a productive one. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I hope you have a super fantastic, well-balanced, fun, productive year. XO

  4. Perhaps I should start working on โ€˜em now? Maybe? Hahaha.

    You’ll get it!

  5. Ugh I hate January and February! They are my least favorite months. So boring. And the weather stinks. Well, maybe not in the Bahamas.
    That’s so crazy that you are creative enough to think up short stories. I wish I could do that. Good luck with your job and everything!

    • The weather sucks here in that it is not mild. It’s still hot like summer. I wish we could at least get a little chill. It did randomly rain last night. I guess that’s as interesting as it’s gonna get. I wish I had snow to roll around in!
      Don’t worry. You tell stories all the time. You just don’t think about it. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thanks, Lily! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Good for you! I’m trying to write more this month too but am feeling the January blues big time..

  7. Just Rambling said:

    Ugh, the job thing sucks. Sucks, sucks, sucks. Hopefully your holidays were awesomesauce. I like having days off too. I’m looking for ways to retire tomorrow! ๐Ÿ˜›

    Oh well, I truly hope your gonna get a nice, challenging job asap! In the meantime enjoy the writing, you’re good at it! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • The holidays were pretty quiet, and that was fine by me! ๐Ÿ™‚

      I’m definitely hoping a challenging job (with decent pay) comes along soon. There are lots of things I want to do that cost money. I don’t know which nut job came up with the idea of money. Ha! But seriously… I feel like I need to flip through some college books to wake my brain!

      Thanks, Ruthie! Did I tell you how much I like it when people tell me I’m good at something? Especially writing and cooking. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I am thankful that the holidays are over. Not that I don’t enjoy them, they just seem to be too complicated. I’m sure that you will find your groove and get back in the swing of things. Good luck!

    • I know exactly what you mean!
      I will definitely work my way out of the January rut. Especially now that I’ve announced it here, and have all kinds of luck in my pockets. Thanks, Laci! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. January is always a tough time for me, right off the holidays and straight into 4 family birthdays. Ack. Rather than trying to fit the writing in among everything else, I decided to wait until February before I get back into the swing of things. But I know what you mean: not writing makes me feel useless. Hope things pick up for you soon!

    • That is probably a very wise decision. That way you don’t beat yourself up all month.
      Things are finally picking up. I’m getting to work on my many projects. Deadlines cometh! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

