A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Days of December

Hey, y’aaaaallllllllll!

It’s December, didn’t ya know?

People get excited about December, mostly because of the holidays. I think I’m pretty much over them. I like the days off and the food, but that’s about it. Well, no. I like giving and receiving prezzies too! I’m not so big on Santa everywhere, Christmas music all the time (especially since everyone plays the same 5 albums or so on rotation), increase in crime, and the dark evenings. But hey, gotta take the bad with the good, right? We can’t have it all.

December, for me, begins with celebration of my great-grandmother’s life. Her birthday was yesterday. She’s 93, healthy and happy. I don’t know if there are many other 93 year old people who drive, walk with assistance, clean, cook, etc., but she’s a member of that club. Longevity is definitely in the family. Her birthday has been bittersweet for her for the past four years since my grandfather died late in November and they shared a birthday. Yesterday, though, she didn’t show any sadness.

What’s left of the month… Weeks of craziness as people prepare for Christmas. It won’t be long before the mall (we only have one real mall here) is packed, the prices skyrocket, and traffic is unbearable. I’m not sure why people wait until the last minute to do everything. I guess it’s the thrill of the rush? I’m doing all of my (very minimal) shopping online. No lines, no crowds, no fighting over the last Baby Alive. Heaven!

We’re not doing much in our apartment this year. No tree or anything like that. We’re keeping it as inexpensive as possible. We are, after all, planning the party of the century, and that requires $$$$$. We’re saving hardcore so we have a fun, memorable wedding.

Christmas is always at my great-grandmother’s house. She says, this year (again), that she’s not doing anything big. Just the immediate family. Yeah, right! Just like every other year, it’ll be all the aunts and cousins. I don’t know who she thinks she’s fooling. Haha.

All I’m doing is making sure I’m as ahead of the game as possible, and prepared for what I know is ahead. Preparation! Operation Preparation!

How are you preparing for Christmas? Are you decorating? Have you started shopping? Have you set a budget? What are most excited about?

Comments on: "Days of December" (12)

  1. We haven’t started shopping, but we did buy a 6 1/2 ft tree this yr! That will be the little decorating we do. We are also trying to save money, new baby, and possibly a new house in the next year. xoxo

  2. Happy bday to ggrams! I’ve been sick abed for days, so I’m just getting to back-blogs 🙂

  3. Ohhh yes…the food!!! Happy (late) 93rd, it’s great that she is doing so well. I know many people who aren’t near that age and aren’t doing as well. She must be doing something right. That’s a great idea to save on money. This time of year it seems like it is so easy to get carried away with spending. You have a great goal to save up for. 🙂

    • You’re right! It’s blessing for sure.
      I think it’s a good habit for us, saving for something bigger. Every year we seem to end up doing less than we normally would in order to do something more important. Last year it was our living room set. Next year? Hopefully the big move!

    • And thanks so much for dropping by and commenting. Missed ya!

  4. So…hey! How do I find you on facebook, eh??? I finally joined facebook, I mean…it’s a miracle!!!! So, anyway… I wanted to add you.

    As far as Christmas is concerned… I LOVE it. I don’t have a tree, and I don’t think I want to either, but I LOVE the time of the year. I LOVE Silver Bells. I LOVE the song. Yeah! Totally!!!!

Leave a Reply

