A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Monday Madness

It’s Mondaaaaayyyyy! Did ya know?

I feel all fgfkgjfjfgnb today. So much to do! I went through some websites that have information on submissions and contests, and FINALLY updated my little planner. I’ve given myself deadlines to get pieces done and submitted. I need to be ahead of those deadlines if I want time to post them to Scribophile to get feedback from other writers. I have at least one piece due every week for the rest of the year! Crazy, right? That’s not even including the assignments for my Writing for Children & Teenagers course. This should be interesting.

Here is some info on my work in progress:

  • Food Flash – It’s for a food festival, and they’re looking for short stories up to 2500 words on the theme of “Food & Drink”. There are no other restrictions, so I decided to make mine short and sweet. Well, it’s really not sweet. It’s kind of evil. But I like it! I’ve been getting crits on it for a few weeks now, and it’s ALMOST to where it needs to be. Before the end of this month, I’m going to have to let that baby fly.
  • Ice Cream Truck – Have I ever mentioned the super annoying ice cream truck that comes by our place EVERY day at the SAME time? It drives me crazy. I hate it. The music is awful. The other day, I was trying to have a little nap. Note that I am NOT a nap person. I HATE it. I was just SO tired from waking up a 6am to get a ride to work and working all day. Enter the ice cream truck. Playing CHRISTMAS music. I HATE Christmas music. It really annoys me. Anyway, I got my Neo, and wrote a little story. I was pissed when I wrote it, so it’s funny in a snarky sort of way, but it needs work.
  • The Other – It’s about a married woman who is seeing someone else. Her husband is also seeing someone else. Their marriage is pretty much over, but they still live in the same house. Things get a little weird. I wanted this to be a short, snappy piece, but a lot of the critiquers keep asking for more. They want to know more about the woman than I really care to tell. The story isn’t meant to be ABOUT her. I’m struggling with it. I like it the way I wrote it, but it needs to please the reader too. I’d decided to let it rest a while. BUT… It’s perfect (in theory) for a magazine’s theme that I want to submit it for. This week. GAH!
  • Comatose – A woman is in a coma, completely unresponsive. She gets an unexpected visit from the daughter she never had a relationship with. The daughter offloads and rants, but the woman can’t explain herself. I gave this one a looong rest. Time to look up the crits and polish her up. From what I remember, people wanted more backstory on this one too. To me, that’s not what  a short story is about. A short should be started as late as possible – close to the action – and focus on as short a time period as possible. I’m going to have a look at WHO is saying WHAT. If the people who want backstory are novel writers (primarily), I’m gonna have to veto their opinions. This baby needs to fly too!

That’s just what I have already written. There are some other ideas floating around. Can you tell how busy my week is going to be? It’s okay though. It’s about time I put more time and effort into what I REALLY want to do. It’s just difficult to balance a day job and home life with my work. I don’t want anything in the equation to suffer. This may take some trial and error, y’all, so excuse me for blogging far less than I used to. I’ll be back on track soon, I hope!

How about you? How is your Monday going? Any goals for this week?

Comments on: "Monday Madness" (8)

  1. Makes sense, the who is saying what in the coma story. It sounds like you’re saying the daughter is speaking (obviously) but the comatose woman can hear her, understand and is thinking / reacting? That’s an interesting concept — but I don’t know if I’d need backstory unless that’s part of the mother’s reaction, which has to be shown as she can’t tell?

    • The story is told from the mother’s perspective. She’s hearing everything her daughter says, and mentally responding. The daughter expresses lots of anger that comes from not understanding why things were the way the were. The backstory is weaved into the mother’s responses, and you totally get what happened. I think people just expect too much from short stories… Well, people who aren’t familiar with them. A short really isn’t a mini novel. It’s about one isolated event. Or maybe they get attached to characters and want to know more. My style of writing is a bit cryptic though, leaving some questions unanswered. I’m not big on spelling everything out and spoon-feeding readers. I’m trying to find the balance between responding to critiques through revision and maintaining my own style.

  2. Keep writing! Super proud!

  3. wow, you’re doing better than me! great story plans there! 😀 keep going!

  4. An ice cream truck playing Christmas music?! Hahaha. Made me laugh. Sure it wasn’t so funny at the time though 😛

Leave a Reply

