A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Things of the Past Few Weeks:

  • Started flag football practice with my sister’s work team. Babe too! It’s looking more like it’s going to be a really random team that happens to be sponsored by my sister’s work. My other sister joined, and brought two people from her (different) work. Babe and I don’t work at the first workplace. The captain seemed to bring another two people who don’t work with them. Anyway, whatever. I’m glad it’s sponsored. I really don’t feel like the practices are going anywhere. She makes us run around a circle (approximately 0.45 miles) 5 times at the beginning. Then we do some lame stretching, a few push-ups, and jumping jacks. Big deal. Then we toss the ball around. And then do (2 or 3) sprints. Super weird. I think there should be a lot more conditioning going on, but NOPE. I don’t think the captain really knows anything about fitness. I’d probably make a better leader of the very unathletic, not-fit bunch of lazies. Honestly. Hopefully, a trainer will be coming to whip us into shape soon. Tryouts are in the first week of October. *sighs*
  • Babe and I started our wedding planning! SO exciting! It’s a lot of work, but it’s fun. It’s for US. Our day. She probably thinks I’m crazy, and maybe I am. It’s not until next summer, and I’m pretty much trying to get EVERYthing sorted out, like, NOW. I really would like everything (location, where we’re staying, dates of travel, wardrobe, favours, etc.) fully planned within the next two months. I’d also like to start paying deposits on things to hold them. The only problem is: That requires money. *looks at bank account and laughs* We need my new job to start, like, PRONTO.
  • I made a decision on the job thing. The one I really wanted, but passed on, was homeschooling. The problem was that we only had four potential students. Two of my cousin, and two of Babe’s cousin. I would have had to settle for far less money that I need to be making in order to save toward our goals. The upside of that option: shorter working day (8:30-1), more time to write, doing what I LOVE. Oh, well. Money won out in the end. A difference of at least $4,800/year. The other job is with a governmental department directed by a close relative who will make sure I get the job. There is a mandatory training period of 3 or 4 months which is mostly in the classroom. No problem! Listening to people talk, studying, and taking tests? Sign me up! I’m on it. One of Babe’s cousins is also applying. Cool that we’d sort of get to hang out. We only hung out twice, and I think she’s pretty cool/funny. The real kicker with this job: Island transfers! They need people to work on other islands (more remote, quieter, less going on), and people don’t tend to want to take those jobs. SIGN. ME. UP. I would LOVE a change of pace and scenery. And get this… The government would cover rent. HELLOOOOO?! DID YOU HEAR ME?! Living rent-ass-free! That means saving hundreds of dollars without even taking my pay into account. Babe agrees that this is a great opportunity for us to make strides in our plan to move.

Things of This Week:

  • Working at my cousin’s office. Managing to get some critiquing done, so I’m earning karma points to post my own work. Not that I really need points. I have LOTS. As my friend Kane says, I need to WRITE, WRITE, WRITE!
  • My second assignment for the ICL Writing for Children & Teenagers course I’m taking is due on Saturday. I have done ZILCH. I’m really annoyed with myself. I got my first assignment in about two weeks early. In her letter to me, the instructor encouraged me to take all the time allotted for the assignment. I sort of took that as an admonishment or something. FAIL. That may be A way, but it’s not MY way. I need to do things when I’m fired up. When I’m excited it. When I’m in the mental space to do it. Now, the deadline looms, and I DO. NOT. FEEL. LIKE. DOING IT. It sucks. I’m going to have to force out a story like a mentally constipated writer. SUCKS. My (writing) butt already hurts. Stupid, stupid move. From now on, I’ll do things as I like.
  • Yesterday, I walked (briskly) with my sister (the older of the two). We went at super speed. Babe hung back and walked at a less competitive pace. We were on our walk about about 50 minutes. Looked like they were getting some chatting in. Good to see them getting more comfortable with one another. (The older sister and Babe are often in the same space, usually in her car, so lots of chatting goes on.) Then, the sisters went crazy when they saw a friend with a trainer, and joined in. Babe and I hung back and chatted with my mum who was riding with one of the sisters. She just had to sit around and wait while we worked out. I guess she had no other ride from work. Anyway, Babe and mum were chattin’ it up! How cool! If there is still any awkwardness, neither of them let it show. It was pretty cool. I wonder if my mum has accepted things, slipped back into denial, or is just ignoring it. Whatever it is, it’s fine, as long as she’s respectful. She even offered to bake up a pan of macaroni. Hahaha.

Things that Make Me Happy:

  • Working ooooout! Like, REALLY working out. Not that play-play ish we do at flag football “practice”.
  • Doing well with my water consumption.
  • Steakouts! Super popular way to raise money in these parts. People sell $10 tickets for dinners of steak or chicken with baked potato, corn, and a roll. Pretty typical. But *I* have tickets to a COOL steakout. They’re serving more native food. Baked chicken, bbq chicken, or steak with peas ‘n’ rice, and choice of two sides: beets, corn, or macaroni. WEEEE! We’re gonna be eatin’ gooooood on Saturday!
  • Frozen strawberry bars. Babe bought me one yesterday. 🙂
  • Snacks. Granola bars, sliced apples, bananas and nutella, yogurt… I feel WAY better on days when I snack, snack, snack. Gotta keep the energy up! I must add that whenever I start working out, my already big appetite gets CRAZY. I am RAVENOUS! Hide your food, y’all!

How about you? What’s been going on? What’s new? What makes you happy?

Comments on: "Last Week, This Week, and Happies" (12)

  1. I love working out, too! It’s at least something fun to do and if there are actually tryouts, it sounds like YOU’re the one to make it where the others wouldn’t? It may get more competitive then!

    Also, sounds like a great scheme on the job front. at least to do for a while and any kind of training is GOOD STUFF.

    • It’s crazy how good it feels to workout. My mum was telling Babe that “That’s how it is. Once you start, you never wanna stop.” Babe said something like, “No, I wanna stop.” LOL. Mum laughed and said, “Oh, gee, you sound like you lazy.” Ahahahahaha. Too funny!

      I don’t know about being one to make it. There are definitely people who are faster than me. (I hate sprints, and I don’t really believe in pushing speed. Endurance is more important to me.) I catch pretty well. My throwing probably leaves something to be desired. Lol. I get lazy during the ball tossing because it just feels so stupid and boring. I’d rather be doing something more highly related to the game. It’s like sitting through a class on Microsoft Word for beginners. *points finger gun at own head*

      I kinda think I’ll hate the job, really. I just wanna save that money! If they don’t transfer me to an island, I’ll probably quit on the spot. I’m like that.

      ________________________________

  2. U so jokey mannnn re: “practice” and “less competitive pace”!! *I’m smiling at this post* Thas all. 🙂

  3. flag football! i’ve been wanting to try that out.
    wedding plans! eeeek!!!!
    working out makes me happy too! endorphins and stuff! yay!

  4. Yay for wedding planning! Pinterest has so many neat ideas..which seriously make me want to have another wedding. Haha I have to agree, nothing beats a GOOD, sweaty workout! & I too am a total snacker 🙂 always eating here and there! Hope you have a great week hun!

    • Yeah, Pinterest is like wedding planning heaven. I’m hoping we plan a day that we won’t wanna change one thing about. Good luck to me with that, right? Hahaha.
      Nothing like a good workout to make you feel good and energized!

  5. Omg you’re so healthy! Planning your wedding must be exciting and hard! Because you have to come to the states, right? Still, should be amazing!

    • Hahaha. I’m trying to make healthy choices as much as possible. Not able to workout as much as I want, and buy as many veggies. The offerings here aren’t quite as nice as the US, Canada, and… You know… First world countries.
      Yeah, it’s challenging to plan it from here. We’re doing it in Canada. Woot, woot! I figure an early start (a year in advance) should ensure we get it right, without the stressssss. Fingers crossed for me right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

