A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Six Things Saturday

  1. I’m sick. I don’t know exactly what’s going on, but something is wrong. I haven’t been able to eat a meal since Wednesday afternoon. On Friday, I packed myself a lunch. At lunch time, I heated it up and had ONE spoonful. That was all I could take. A few minutes later, I forced two more. That was it.
  2. Today, my little cousin went back to his mother. His dad asked me to accompany him on the plane ride. It was nice to be able to take him, and chat with him. He had a little moment of crying, saying that he wanted to stay with his dad, but it didn’t last long.
  3. My aunt is like a doctor without the degree. She knows all kinds of home remedies and can diagnose things like nobody’s business. Yesterday, she looked in my eyes (the pink part you see when you put your finger right under an eye and pull down). She can see iron levels by the colour. Usually, she just tells me, “Yeah, your iron is low.” That time, she said, “You’re anemic!” I said, “That’s news?” Hahaha. I am feeling a bit lightheaded these days though. It sucks being alone when you feel like crap, doesn’t it? My cousin checks on me every now and then though, so it’s okay.
  4. Babe is still away. She’ll finally be back on Monday. YAY!
  5. Some weird things are going on in our apartment. We’re finding out just how much the owner sucks. She doesn’t respond well to the issues we bring to her attention, and it’s really getting old. Time to move on, I think.
  6. It’s super hot. I think that may be contributing to how I’m feeling. Weak, tired, and no appetite. I’m trying to drink lots of water. I got two bottles of Gatorade from my aunt’s house last night. I’m drinking a mouthful every now and then, just to get something in my system. I do NOT want to end up laying up in a hospital on a drip like last time. I can usually tell when I’m heading down that road, and it’s not good!

Oh, how about a bonus thing? I decided on the writing competitions I’ll enter for the rest of the year. Now I just have to get cracking with the writing and editing of my work. I thought I’d get lots done this week, but health issues deterred me. Bummer! Hope to make up for it after a nap today, and tomorrow while at FamJam. Hopefully my appetite makes an appearance tomorrow. If not, my family will notice, and will probably take me straight to the hospital. Gross!

What are you up to this weekend?

Comments on: "Six Things Saturday" (10)

  1. Just Rambling said:

    Uh oh… Hopefully you’ll feel better soon! And yep, not feeling well sucks when you’re alone! It sucks when you’re not alone, but it sucks even more when you’re alone! Ok, so I’ve made my point. It. Sucks.
    Try to eat something! I’m pretty sure you are trying already but I thought it sounded cute… Okay, take care!

    • Hahaha. Point taken!
      Last night, I managed to eat a salad. My aunt gave me some turkey salad, and I cut up some lettuce to put it on. I was super proud of myself. Hahaha. I’m having a bowl of cereal now. So far, so good. No crazy reactions. I’m on the mend! Now if my energy could just pick back up, I’ll be great!

      One weird thing: My jaw hurts! When I chew, there is a weird pain/stiffness, and it’s not my teeth. I think my mouth forgot that one of its functions is chewing!

  2. aww! I hope you feel better soon! 🙂
    xo

  3. Hope you are feeling better. I have anemia and it’s the pits. I also have low Vitamin D levels, which is associated with anemia. I take cod liver oil, full of Omega 3 which helps strengthen your immune system. It takes some getting used to, but if you like fish at all then it’s really not that bad.

    • I don’t like fish. Hahaha. The only Bahamian who doesn’t like fish.

      Anemia is no fun at all. Mine is weird as my body doesn’t absorb iron properly AND my store of iron is poor. Pills don’t work. I’m supposed to be taking a liquid supplement (Floradix) which works really well, but it’s very expensive at about $90 for a bottle that lasts no more than two weeks. I also have to take iron with vitamin C and B12 to help with absorption. When it gets really low, there’s no choice but to get shots. And as you probably know, they sting! you must eat a lot of spinach too, huh?

      ________________________________

Leave a Reply

