A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

I’m about halfway through The Book Thief (by Markus Zusak), and I’m really enjoying it. I can’t do a real review yet, but here are a few things I like about the book:

  1. It’s narrated by the grim reaper/death.
  2. The author throws away the ideas of subtleties in foreshadowing. You know a lot of things that are going to happen before you think you should, but it works. Mostly because you have no idea how or why those things will happen.
  3. The reader is directly addressed by the narrator. (I really like this because I’ve always wanted to write a book this way. It’s cool that I got to read one that does that.)
  4. Random German phrases. Babe and I affectionately call each other Saumensch and Saukerl from time to time.
  5. The secondary characters are as interesting as the primary characters. Their appearances always evoke a reaction like, “Oh, YAY! Him again,” or “Ugh… Not this prick again!”
  6. The reader knows just enough. Not too little, and not too much. It’s a delicate balance.
  7. I have no idea if this book is supposed to be young adult, or just plain fiction. Gotta love that in a book. (If you’ve read The Hunger Games, you understand the effect I’m talking about.)
  8. The Holocaust. I have no idea why this is so interesting to me, but it is. Movies and books that are directly related to it, or just around that time period grab me and hold me in the air until they’re done.
  9. History. See above.
  10. Awesome quotes. In talking about human nature, the narrator says, “So much good, so much evil. Just add water.” Another great one is, “The words were born on her breath, and died at her lips.”
  11. I think I forgot to mention quotes. “Her teeth were like a soccer crowd, crammed in.”
  12. The Jesse Owens incident. The main character’s best friend painted himself black and ran 100 metres, to see what it felt like to be Jesse Owens.
  13. Won the Commonwealth Writers Prize for Best Book. Someday, I’ll have a book to enter in the competition. Maybe – just maybe – that book will win.
Comments on: "13 Things About The Book Thief" (9)

  1. 1) Is that different or WHAT?!?!
    2) You know I usually HATE knowing what’s going to happen, but yea, it works for this book somehow
    3) That’s very rare and I believe sometimes frowned upon, but they did it very well
    4) Ha ha ha!
    **The reader knows just enough. Not too little, and not too much. It’s a delicate balance.*** – you said it!
    13) Yesssss! Exciting stuff!!

  2. Funny – we are reading this for our book club this month and I’m halfway through as well and really like it. It IS labeled young adult and I was skeptical when we picked it. I find it very moving and rather than being scared by “death” as the narrator, I rather like him. 🙂

    • These young adult books are getting cooler and cooler. And I have to put a plug in here: If you’ve already, READ THE HUNGER GAMES! Ok, I’m done.
      I kinda like the guy too. 🙂

  3. A Novel Place said:

    This has got to be one of my most favourite novels. It’s incredibly well-written, with truth, love and sorrow all inter-woven together beautifully. You’ll love it!

    • I think it’s gonna be up there on my list too. It’s so good. I get right into it and have trouble putting it down.

    • I just saw on your blog that you’re reading The Forgotten Garden. LOVE that. I finished it a few weeks ago. It’s on my list of faves. I’ll be buying House at Riverton soon!

  4. That book sounds really clever! I wish I was that creative. Do you write for fun or for school or work? Sounds like you do it all the time?

    • It really is!
      I do a bit of writing for work – just articles and press releases – but I’m a writer at heart. I’d love to have unlimited time to write short stories and novels, and be able to do lots of volunteer work. I think I’m supposed to be a free spirit, but my spirit has been in shackles for ages. I’m just breaking free. WOO!

Leave a Reply

