A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Weekend Recap

FRIDAY

  • I like my ice cream on a cone, but I don't like the cone.

    Ryan (my 4-year old cousin) hung out with us for the night while his dad went to a meeting. I love when he visits! (He lives on another island with his mother.)

  • Babe and I took him to a new game room. It’s pretty cool with about 15 flat screens set up with game consoles like XBox and Wii.
  • He chose to play PacMan, a Mario Bros monster truck driving game, and something else I don’t remember.
  • It was hilarious, watching him play the games and get so excited that he couldn’t sit down.
  • We fed him Cheetos, root beer, and vanilla familla ice cream in a cone. The cone was not consumed.
  • When we were about to leave, “Sexy and I Know It” played. Of course, the child stopped, struck a pose, and said, “SEXY AND I KNOW IT!” The woman who was helping us said, “Awww, he’s so cuuute!” Hahaha.
  • As we walked down the sidewalk (in the shopping centre) from the game room to the ice cream parlour, he stopped about 3 times to strike a pose and remind us that he’s, “SEXY AND I KNOW IT!” Hilarious.
  • While hanging out in the ice cream parlour, after we were done eating our ice cream, he told us the story of “Jack and the Beanstalk.” I kid you not, the boy told the story VERBATIM. It was amazing. When he was done telling the story, we sang a few nursery rhymes.
  • In the car, we turned the radio up and sang and danced.
  • His dad’s meeting went later than expected. We found a spot to park and listen to music. Eventually, I got out of the car to entertain him with dance, and he joined me, dancing in the dark, on the side of the road. FUN.

SATURDAY

  • We didn’t go running. 😦 It rained in the early hours of the morning, and by 6am, it was wet and gross. We just stayed in bed.
  • At 6am, there were two doorbell rings. We were annoyed, and hell-bent on ignoring. Eventually, I realized that it was probably my cousin, meeting us to run. I opened the door, told her we were still in bed, and she could come in and sleep or something until time for yoga.
  • Babe and I didn’t end up continuing to sleep. We chatted and laughed in bed, and then decided to get ready.
  • Yoga was great. It was a rather relaxing class. We didn’t do anything too taxing. Leg raises were the toughest part. We also did sun salutations, warrior poses, triangle, shoulder stand, bridge, and breathing exercises.
  • We left feeling relaxed and refreshed. Off we went to get breakfast!
  • Unlike last week, they did NOT run out of my Saturday morning special. Babe and I had our desired breakfasts, and we watched two episodes of Modern Family (we may be slightly addicted) and an episode of Downton Abbey (another slight addiction).
  • We just relaxed for the rest of the day, with our nooks. Babe is reading Graceling, and I’m still reading The Book Thief. SO good!
  • We were bad girls and had chocolate cake (me), tiramisu (Babe) and nachos for dinner.

SUNDAY

  • No run again. The weather did not cooperate.
  • We did some cleaning, and more Modern Family + Downton Abbey + reading
  • The usual FamJam at my great-gram’s house. Ryan was there.
  • I got lots of spontaneous hugs from Ryan throughout the afternoon. I even got a “Myyy Alicia!” with one of the hugs. 🙂
  • When I was leaving, Ryan started to cry. My heart broke a little. I told him to be sure to call me when he’s back in Nassau. He left for Abaco this morning.
GOAL FOR THIS WEEK
  • 300 word Flash Fiction + 2 edits
  • Complete character development for novel
  • Outline ideas for children’s books
  • Start work on grant proposal for business
  • Find an illustrator for children’s books + Get quotes
  • Complete registration folders for the event
  • Record ideas from The Book Thief, A Secret Kept, and The Forgotten Garden

How was your weekend? Did you do anything interesting? What’s your week looking like?

Comments on: "Weekend Recap" (8)

  1. Ryan is so smart/active/full of life! I can only imagine the hugs during FamJam.
    Writing goals – yayyyy! Fun!

  2. aww your wee cousin’s sooo cute! And mmm i can do with some nachos now!! yum!

  3. I adore Ryan without actually knowing him. And you. And Babe.
    “Babe and I didn’t end up continuing to sleep. We chatted and laughed in bed, and then decided to get ready.”
    SO cute! 🙂

  4. Why are kidss so stinkin cute? He is just a doll!
    I love yoga! Last year I was in an awesome routine of doing yoga in the mornings before going into work. It really helped me jump start my day. I really need to get back into that.

    • And people wonder why I want a house full of ’em!
      I am now the crazy person that randomly does yoga poses. In the middle of my work day, while waiting on lines, watching tv shows… Lol. It just feels so darn good!

Leave a Reply

