A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

I Am Woman

It’s Thursday, and you already know that I’m thankful. In addition to Thursdayness, there’s WOMANNESS today! It’s International Women’s Day, so it only seems right to be thankful for my womanhood.

I’ve always identified as a woman FIRST. Not as a race, nationality, religion, age, or level of education. Girl. Woman. Lady. Female. Always.

This is a ladies only style of body?! Well, YIPPITY-DOO-DAAAH! EEEEEEE!

Even though I’m a woman:

  • I wear pants pretty much every day
  • I do planks, push-ups, and other strength/muscle-building activities
  • I eat as much as I want
  • I have cake and ice cream late at night
  • I love a woman
  • I keep my hair super short
  • I refuse to wear makeup every day
  • I don’t shave my legs every couple of days
  • I refuse to wear pantyhose unless I’m going to an older person’s funeral
  • I hold a full time job
  • I do not like puppies, kittens, red roses, or the colour pink

As I woman, I am not criticized for:

  • Wearing skirts, dresses, makeup, or heels (on the rare occasions that I feel like it)
  • Having my nails done
  • Keeping my eyebrows groomed
  • Owning pink things (Bright pink is the only one that I can tolerate)

Because I am a woman:

  • I can give birth to more than ideas, plans, and art… I can bring life into the world
  • I know what it’s like to be underestimated (and to prove people wrong)
  • I hear cat calls, kissy noises, and exclamations like, “OY! SEXY!” every day
  • I’m often told that I am beautiful
  • Some men think they have the right to touch me (and they are sadly mistaken)
  • There are lots of expectations of me (that may or may not be met)
  • I get away with a few things
  • People try to fit me into a box (which could never work!)
  • It’s upsetting to people that I love a woman
  • I am a target
  • I always carry pepper spray and a stun gun
  • Society tells me to be careful how I dress, because that choice determines how I should be treated
A lot of things come along with being a woman. There is good, and there is bad. There are things that I like, and things that annoy me. We do not all agree, and we do not all live the same lifestyles. Among us are feminists, atheists, Christians, Muslims, lesbians, bi-sexuals, members of parliament, presidential candidates, divas, mechanics, lawyers, doctors, artists, stay-at-home moms, bloggers, writers, runners, yoga-enthusiasts, bad drivers (lol), soccer moms, nomads, minimalists, and extremists. We don’t all like each others. We aren’t all friends. The thing that we have in common is that WE ARE WOMEN. We share struggles and triumphs. We sympathize and empathize with each other. We champion some of the same causes. We make mistakes. We work hard. We do what we can. Because we can. Now, LET ME HEAR YOU ROOOOOARRRRR!

As Helen Reddy put it:

I am strong (strong)
I am invincible (invincible)
I am woman

You can bend but never break me
’cause it only serves to make me
More determined to achieve my final goal
And I come back even stronger
Not a novice any longer
’cause you’ve deepened the conviction in my soul

This one is for all you crazies out there:

I’m a Bitch <— I have no idea why this won’t embed. *sighs*

Why are you happy/thankful to be a woman?

Comments on: "I Am Woman" (10)

  1. *ROOOOOARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRS*

  2. 1) I LOVE THIS POST!!!!
    2) Because I admire you and your amazing inner strength, I am nominating you for the Kreativ Blogger Award. It should be up on my blog soon.


    Jenny

  3. Reblogged this on Fancy Oatmeal and commented:
    I love this blog and what it stands for! ROOOOOOOOOOOOARRRR!

  4. spectular post got to read it twice!!!

  5. I love this post! A great post for today. It’s great to hear these things about you and to get to know you a bit better. Beautiful post!!

Leave a Reply

