A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Weekend Recap

It’s Monday, and I love it!

I had a great weekend. On Friday evening, I sort of surprised Babe with a celebratory get-together at our apartment, complete with a cake of looove, wine, cheese, and fruit. Yeah, we’re very fancy. We’re allowed. We celebrated ONE WHOLE YEAR. 🙂

  

24 cupcakes formed a pull-apart cake

The spread 🙂

Some cousins and friends stopped by to share the evening with us. We ate, drank, talked, laughed, and played Cranium. It was a good time. Everyone seemed to enjoy themselves. The company, I have to say, was fantastic. We know a lot of fun, fun-loving, funny people. We did our thing from 8 until shortly after midnight. We’re such rockstars that we went straight to bed after putting the leftovers away.

Trying to contain myself during the runner's high 🙂

On Saturday morning, I was up early for my run. It was beautiful. I forgot my calf sleeves, so it wasn’t as comfortable as usual. I had to cut the run a bit short. I beat my personal record by running a mile ONE WHOLE SECOND faster (7’16”) than I did the week before. *raises fists and nods triumphantly to the cheering crowd* Yes. Yes, I AM a rockstar. *waits for the crowd to stop cheering so loudly before continuing* I treated myself to a walk on the beach after I hydrated. I sat on the rocks and took in the beauty around me as I waited for time to go by.

Yoga starts at 8am, and I was in the parking lot by 7:30am. My mum was the next person to arrive. Leave it to us to be the first people ANYwhere. The class was good. We practiced our Asana postures again, focused on the chest, did the shoulder stand again (I love that I can do this sooooo easily, thanks to ballet/acrobatics class when I was younger), bridge (which I also champion, thanks to ballet/acrobatics), and tried the headstand (OUCH!) for the first time. I made it as far as sticking my butt in the air and sort of straightening my legs while my head was in my hands. My head hurt from the pressure, so I didn’t push it. Ananda (our instructor) said we’ll make space next week to try it against the wall.

Everyone got a medal to commemorate the opening of the Thomas A. Robinson National Stadium

From yoga, I picked Babe up from a meeting, and headed home to have breakfast. After breakfast and a little reading, I was ready for a nap. An extended nap. Babe woke me in time to get ready for the opening of The Bahamas’ new National Stadium. The stadium is a gift to the country from the Chinese government, and it is massive. It seats 15,000, and it’s pretty nice! My nephew accompanied us to the ceremony. My nieces would have been there, but my sister took them on a weekend trip to another island.

New stadium for The Bahamas

How about you? What did you do on the weekend? What was the highlight?

Comments on: "Weekend Recap" (6)

  1. Funnnn!!! *grins* Those cupcakes fruits and and cheeses were soooo fan-cy, and yes, of course, the best company ever!

    Congrats you running rock star!!!!!!!

    The potcakes and waves at the stadium were quite entertaining. Yay to this weekend’s upcoming activities!

  2. Ohhh happy one year!!! Congrats!!! The cake and platters look beautiful and yummy. You are a total rockstar!

  3. happy anniversary!!! woo hoooo! and the food looks amazing! sounds like u had a great day.

Leave a Reply

