A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Valentine’s Day 2011

I went to work, as usual. Nothing special. I don’t remember whether or not flowers or other special treats were delivered to other people in the store. I probably didn’t notice. I didn’t care. Nothing had arrived for me. No one had thought of me.

I was dating someone, but he was on his way out. I was no longer interested. I’d lost interest shortly after Christmas. For some reason, I was very lazy about getting out of the relationship. I just made myself unavailable and become almost comatose. Unresponsive. He was just not the right person for me. He was nice enough, but it just didn’t work. We just didn’t click. He was quite happy, but me? No. He was busy. He worked, worked, worked. He had a child. I wasn’t really interested in step-mothering. His values were not in line with mine. Above all else was money. Becoming a millionaire. Like an obsession. I was appalled.

I met someone. I met her months before things started to really break down. She was a friend. Then, she became a really good friend. Soon enough, I was enamored. Now, don’t get the wrong idea. There was no rebound. There was no stealing. There was no plan. One thing just fell apart, and another came together.

One of the ladies in the front office came to my office carrying a little gift bag. In it was a bottle of tequila (*swoons*), two cupcakes, and a card. They were from her. It was Valentine’s Day. And she thought of me. Enough to pick out some of my favourite things. For me. I didn’t even want to eat the cupcakes. They were so pretty. And so special. She was so special. And she still is.

Later that night, he called.

“You ain’ even mention the flowers and shits what I sent you.”

I held the phone to my ear, waiting for the punchline.

Silence.

“What?”

“The shits what I send you. You ain’ say thanks or nuttin.”

“First of all, don’t swear at me. Secondly, what are you talking about? I got nothing from you.”

He seemed pretty surprise. Shocked, really. That I didn’t get “the shits” that he sent. It did not take long to realize what had happened.

“Stop jokin’! You ain’ get the stuff what I sen’? I sen’ it to Donald’s Furniture!”

“Um…” I stifled my laughter before saying, “I don’t work at Donald’s Furniture. I work at Roberts…”

I hope the “Alicia” at Donald’s Furniture enjoyed the flowers “and shits” sent by a man who was too busy trying to be a millionaire to pay attention to where THIS Alicia worked. I thoroughly enjoyed my cupcakes, loved the card, and still smile when I see the bottle of tequila in our kitchen that she and I only open for very special occasions. In ten days, we’ll be celebrating our first year together, so we’ll welcome Jose Cuervo – the only man allowed to live with us – to join us.

Happy Valentine’s Day, y’all! Wishing you lots of pretty flowers, yummy chocolate, presents in tiny boxes, and looove.

Got any good Valentine’s Day stories? Do tell! 🙂

Vix wrote and shared a good V-Day short story in this post. She has a V-Day theme going on this week, so keep checking it out. Especially on Thursday for my guest post with a surpriiiiise for yooou.

Comments on: "Valentine’s Day 2011" (12)

  1. Happy Valentine’s Day!!

  2. Wow Babe.. You never even told me about this!

    Happy everyday-of-the-rest-of-your-life, including this one.

    I love you~

  3. The sweetest love story I’ve read post-Valentine’s Day, except for the flower and “the shits”. Haha. That part was hilarious.

  4. awww what a great story! gives me hope that i’ll find my man soon! 🙂 x

  5. I laughed out loud at the “flowers n shit” so hilarious! great post!

Leave a Reply

