A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Funny Quote of the Day: Ok. I have to set this up. I was having a conversation with my mother. We were talking about the insurance agent I’m going to see today. Apparently, she was the insurance agent for my dad as well; I knew she dealt with my brother because he referred me to her. My brother and I are the only two children my mother has by my (our) father. This is what she said, “Alan and his daddy…” The rest of the sentence was last. ALAN and HIS daddy? Who the HELL is my dad?! Ahahahahahahahha. Good thing I look as much like that man as a young woman could possibly look like any man.

Quote to Think About for the Day: You know that I like to set things up, right? Well, I called for my dad. I gave a warm greeting to my godfather’s wife who answered the phone before asking if “my daddy” was there. She said, “Alicia?” Well, yes, it’s me. I confirmed, and she said, “You’re sounding younger and younger every day!” I said, “Well, yes… I try.” Hahahha. Anyway, she probably didn’t mean to be all philosophical or anything, but her response was, “Only one time around, so ya betta do what ya gotta do. Only. One. Time. Around.” -My godfather’s wife.

Song of the Day Week: Technically, this was the song of yesterday. It played on the radio on my way home, and I was JAMMIN’. I’m talking, radio up loud, I’m singing along, and making facial expressions, tossing my head around like I was starring in the music video. Yeah, baby. I am TITANIUM. Please note that the music video that I was in was/is waaayyy better than the official music video for David Guetta’s Titanium which features Sia.

Post of the Day Weekend: Lori is on a journey, and her posts along the way are interesting. Thought-provoking. Last week Thursday, she gave me a lot to think about. It was on my mind on the weekend. I’m getting very close to the answer. I encourage you to think about it. What’s is your personal statement of purpose? Please read Lori’s post over at Slow Happy Runner. It is SO good. It will get you thinking.  I’m going to post my response. I think we should make it a community event. How’d you like to post your response too? We can do it on Monday (Jan. 30) to give us the weekend to think about it. Come onnnn. You know you wanna. Join me in developing a personal purpose statement. It may help. One thing it won’t do is harm.

Awkward Moment of the Week: Yeah, I know the week isn’t over yet, but how can this be topped? I know y’all thought it was cute before, but what about now? Does the silly face make the words more of a joke? Is he jesting? I don’t get it. I think I’ll take a little morning beverage vacation.

 

Excited about: Wine Dinnerrrrr! I don’t even know what I like more – wine or dinner. But I looove when they’re together. I don’t even have the menu for the 5 course meal yet, but it shall be GREAT. Babe and I went, with our friend Vanessa, to a wine dinner at the same restaurant with the same host in November. I talked about it and shared the menu in this post. The next one will be on February 4. We are all super exciteeeeed!

Do you have quotes from today? Any awkward moments this week? Song that lifted your spirits when you heard it? Read any awesome posts lately? Share it! Share it all!

Comments on: "Things of the Day (and Week)" (4)

  1. Alicia,
    Thank you so much for the mention — it is wonderful for me to hear that my words inspire others. I will eagerly look forward to reading your response, and will continue to cheer you on as you go about YOUR journey!
    Lori

    • That’s a great post. Thanks for sharing it.
      It took me a good chunk of time to wrap my head around that, but a few years ago, I did. Life is so much better now.

Leave a Reply

