A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Five Question Friday

It’s Friiiii-daaayyy, Friiiii-daaayyy! Gotta get down on Friiiii-daaayyy! Five Question Friday, y’all. Here we go.
 
1. What is the weather like where you are and do you like it?
It’s kind of cool-ish. 73(F), and should be 64(F) tonight. I DO like it, actually. This is perfect weather, to me. I can comfortably wear jeans and a top, and a sweater. Even a scarf in the evening, if I really want to. I like warm clothing. It’s nice to wear shorts and tank tops, but that gets old. It’s easier to like nice when you wear long pants and stuff. And I sleep way better in cooler weather. No matter what the temperature is, I HAVE to be covered up to sleep. This means that heat is brutal at night. It’s just not very nice beach weather, and I really like the beach… Can’t have it all though. Oh! And I just remember something else. I LOVE soup. I feel like making soup. Making and eating soup is ridiculous in the heat. When there’s some chill to the air, though? Perfect.
2. When you’re sick what do you seek comfort from?
I ball myself. On the bed, in the couch, under Babe… Wherever. If I’m by myself, I rock while I’m balled up. The only way I won’t rock is if someone is there to comfort me with their warmth and hugginess. Blankets. Soup. TEA. Tea is a big one for me. Love tea.
3. What do you need to do before the end of the month?
I need to complete the no-longer-than-two-pages description I need to write for the program I want to run. To get a grant of $5,000-10,000. Basically, the US Embassy is giving one-time grants to organizations/community leaders/individuals for HIV/AIDS prevention/education promotion. I have some pretty great ideas, but it will be pretty hard to get support from organizations, community leaders, media, etc. The Bahamas Christian Council has a lot of influence, and seems to scare everyone else into corners. The church and government are not separate here. Not even in theory, honestly. I’m rather unorthodox in my thinking and beliefs. For example, I think the abstainence message is outdated, unrealistic, and ineffective. To go even further, I think that it hurts a lot more than it helps. It just means that young people are ill-equipped, dishonest, and afraid. They do what they want to do behind the backs of all in authority, hurting themselves in the process by not protecting themselves. All because they don’t have what they need. The complete knowledge and understanding of the epidemic, condoms, support. Ok, got a little off track there. I also need to write a short story before the end of the month. I have a million competitions that I’d like to enter.
4. Have you ever served on a jury?
No. I just registered to vote for the first time, and I think the registry of voters is what they use to draft the jury lists. If I got called, I’d answer the questions as best I can to avoid being chosen. I’d probably be a good juror because I’m so non-partisan and by-the-book, but it’s a huge waste of time. Court cases go on for far too long. And the other jurors would probably make me want to kill them. Lol.
5. If you could be any animal, what would you be and why?
Animal? Oh, dear. I really don’t like animals. At all. If I had to BE one… Gaaah! What would I choose? I have no idea. Ummm… I’d be a dolphin. They’re so cool. Mammals of the sea. And they do those cool jumps. Yeah. I’d be a dolphin.
 
Join the Five Question Friday fun! Link up.
Comments on: "Five Question Friday" (6)

  1. Good luck with your proposal. I agree education helps EVERYTHING.

    • Thanks!
      The ideas are there. I just need to find the right people to back them. One of the requirements is support of local organizations and community leaders. :/
      This is an election year, so maybe I can use that to my advantage. *wheels turn*

  2. Dolphins ARE cool. Good choice. I’d probably choose to be a dog, but only if I could be promised that I’d be as spoiled rotten as mine are. 😛
    Good luck internet lover!

  3. I hate it when you don’t feel well 😦
    The dolphin choice is a bit easier for me to imagine than you being your other fav’ animals…

Leave a Reply

