A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Chin Up, Buttercup!

Things that cheer people up:

  • Pretty flowers (Ugly flowers just don’t do it.)
  • Chocolate (For me, make it of the milk variety… No fillings… But I won’t be mad at some nuts.)
  • Tea (It just feels so good, goin’ down!)
  • Fun balloons (Hellooo?!)
  • Cutesy old songs like My Boy Lollipop, and the cute voice that sings it
  • Jewelry (Who can be sick or sad with new jewelry? Particularly of the gold variety.)
  • Hugs (The warm, soothing, little bit squeezy, lots of up and down rubby… You know?)
  • Being someone’s Honey Bunch Sugar Plum Pummy-Ummy Umpkin
  • Good books
  • Music
  • Fresh air
  • Family and friend that love you enough to do this for kicks.
  • Witnessing a FLASH MOB! OMG, so cool! [If you don’t know what I’m talking about, look at this, this, and this.]
  • Sunshine
  • Leisurely bike rides on nice, big, open roads
  • Nail polish (Random, I know.)
  • Things like this
  • Cake
  • Ice cream
  • Happy babies
  • Sweet text messages
  • Cake and ice cream
  • Rainy days when you can actually be at home, curled up with a blanket and good books/movies, hot chocolate, and cuddles
  • Good runs (I need a few right nooowww!)
  • Sushi
  • A bowl of CONCH SALAD (You saw it coming, didn’t you?)

*sighs* I had 5 other good ones that were lost when I tried to post this a few minutes ago. WP hates me. I don’t know why. I think I’d better get some cake and ice cream. 🙂

What always cheers you up? What makes you smile? Had any good laughs lately?

Comments on: "Chin Up, Buttercup!" (16)

  1. WP showed me the “elite list” again (leaving out a bunch of posts) but then dropped a ton more. Weirdos.

    A lot of things make me happy — sadly, a have a bad reaction to a lot of things. I’m high-strung. The good part is I’m genuinely DELIGHTED at things other people don’t notice or feel “meh” about; it’s too many things to mention but I’ll say the last one was a couple minutes ago when a coworker gave me 2.5 onion rings. I haven’t had any in many months. They were delicious, free and a surprise. That made my day!

  2. ICE CREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAM!!!!

  3. it’s true- ugly flowers are just annoyance. You’re like- and Now I have to look at THIS shit all day?? That just makes things worse….
    Running and writing are the two things that make me the happiest- and I wish i had more time to do both!

  4. theladyinredink said:

    These are all soooo true! Another thing that always cheers me up is doing “mindless” reading–things like Cracked.com. I’m obsessed! 🙂

  5. YES! To all of them. Good runs and books and babies and cake. What a happy day!

  6. This is a great list! Stepping out side on a perfect temperature, sunny day always makes me happy. I love the smell of fresh cut grass, too. And you are so right about tea… hot tea with lemon and honey. So soothing.

    • Yes! Days with the perfect temperature! But not when I have to work inside.
      The smell of fresh cut grass makes me reminiscent. I’m 8 years old again, waking up at my aunt’s house on a Saturday morning. Gonna have lasagna or fish cakes or something for lunch, and sit out in the plum tree, drinking lemonade. 🙂
      I like tea with lemon and honey when I’m feeling sick. I forgot about that. Makes the throat feel SO good! Normally, I have plain tea with sugar and cream.

  7. Nail posh works every time! I also prefer my chocolate in the milk variety.

    • Do you believe that I don’t have a single bottle of nail polish? I’ve recently started letting my nails grow. Sadly, I bit a lot of them two-three days/nights ago. *sighs* Starting allllll over again.

  8. Great choices! i think chocolate is my no.1 🙂

Leave a Reply

