A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

I Know It’s Monday, But…

Five Question Friday
 
1. Is there a special dish you prepare that you are famous for?
I don’t get to do much cooking these day. Babe and I are working with a one-burner hotplate at the moment. But hey! We got a gas tank on Saturday. We’ll probably get it filled in the next week or so. THEN, let the kitchen fun begin! Back when I cooked and baked a lot, I was known for nacho dip (which I haven’t made in over a year), chocolate cake of death (named by a youth in the organization I worked for), chicken fettucine alfredo, and Bahamian-style macaroni (baked with cheese, eggs, and milk).
2. Are you (did you) go Black Friday shopping ?
No Black Friday shopping for me. I hate shopping on a regular day. Dealing with the crowds mobs and standing in long lines are even less exciting to me. I do as much as possible online. And early. The only rush I wanna feel around this time of year is JUNKANOO. (Before the holiday season is over, I’ll post about Junkanoo. ‘Cause I love it.)
3. What are your strangest holiday traditions?
I don’t know if I have any…
4. Pecan or pumpkin pie?
I really really don’t like pie. Well, except for CHOCOLATE CREAM PIE, ’cause it’s freaking amazing. It totally doesn’t count as pie. The crust is oreos, for goodness’ sake. If I had to choose a pie, I guess I’d go with pecan? Because pumpkin is stupid. It does not taste. It is not tasted. It has no taste. It is just there. Who wants a pie that tastes like pumpkin nothing? Not me. Pecan pie sounds kinda weird though. It is like… A puree or paste of pecans that fills the pie crust? Are there crunchy bits in it? I don’t get it.
 
5. When will you put up your Christmas tree?
I was gonna do it on the weekend. That changed. We’re not gonna put up a tree this year. Thought it through, regrouped, prioritized… There are some other things on the go right now. Things that are a bit more pressing. So we’re gonna take care of some business instead. We have stockings though! Personalized. 🙂
 
What are your answers? You can leave them in the comments, or leave a link to your own post with answers.
 
In case I don’t get a chance to come back and post today, Happy Monday, y’all! Make your to-do lists, prioritize, get in gear, and enjoy! 🙂
Comments on: "I Know It’s Monday, But…" (14)

  1. A one-burner hotplate? Oh, you poor thing! I feel the exact same way about BlackFriday. I dislike shopping every day, why would I want to leave the comfort of my own home and fight the crowds. Did you hear about the woman that used pepper-spray to get ahead in a long line? She finally turned herself into police …… CRAZYYYYYY!!!!!!!!

    As much as I love this time of year (Thanksgiving and Christmas are my favorite holidays and seasons of the year), I have not put up the Christmas decorations and tree the last two years and most likely won’t put any out this year. To me, Christmas has become way too chaotic and commercialized. Life is hard enough, busy enough, to lose sight of the real reason for CHRISTmas, so the distraction of dragging out all those boxes from the attic don’t interest me in the least. However, I always try to send a big stack of Christmas cards to friends and family (hey – send me your address and I’ll send you one!!!) and I love to receive cards and letters too.

    On a sweet note – literally! – if you like peanut butter, you should try this recipe. I’ve bragged and blogged about it many times because it’s THAT delicious!

    http://mrshutchison.wordpress.com/2011/07/06/five-ingredient-peanut-butter-pie/

    🙂 Nicole @ 27 & Counting

    • You should see the meals we make on that baby! Lol. We’ve learned a LOT about timing.
      I DID hear about the crazy woman. Didn’t know she turned herself in though.

      I looove getting cards! And sending them. 🙂
      I’m not big on peanut butter, but I know people who are (including my dad and brother). I wonder if Nutella would be a good substitute…

  2. Mmm that macaroni sounds amaaaazing!

    • It’s sooo good. My dad’s recipe. 3 or 4 cheeses.
      The only thing is that you have to put it somewhere. And you don’t get to choose where. It’ll either be a layer directly over your nicely defined abs, your thighs, or your hips.

  3. You were so nice when you said crowd and mob. I was thinking idiouts, morons and much worse. I can’t stand to be in a crowded store. It drives me nuts! I’d rather pay more and not have to fight the crowd to get a gift.

  4. I made a post answering your questions… and linked it back to you! 🙂

  5. […] getting inspired by bloggers all over the place lately. Another blog I follow challenged her followers to answer 5 questions (she does five question Fridays) and send her a link […]

  6. yayyyy christmas. and please come over here and make me some nacho dip 😀

  7. Death by chocolate cake sounds like something I would love to try. And probably eat too much of, then regret it, and then make it again a week later.

    I saw these videos people had posted on YouTube and other places of the crowds going wild on Black Friday and I just can’t understand why people bother to go through all that. The large crowds, the pushing, the hysteria…I would be looking for the nearest exit if I ever get caught up in one of those crowds!

    • DBC IS pretty amazing. Sooo good. And I definitely eat too much of eat. Regret it? NEVER! Hahahaha

      Black Friday is friggin’ insane. I think they really wanna punish themselves. Or maybe it’s a thrill, like skydiving. Will I make it out alive?!

Leave a Reply

