A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Weekends of Enjoyment

I tried to post this from my phone on Monday night. Clearly, it only saved as a draft. A few days late, here’s a late post. Lol.

Now that another weekend has come and gone, I’ll tell you about last weekend. Yeah. That’s how I’m rolling these days. LATE.

Babe and I registered for an art workshop at the National Art Gallery. It was supposed an abstract painting thing in the style of a Bahamian artists. The facilitator decided that we wouldn’t really copy any particular style. He sort of left us to do our own thing. The only thing he really showed us was a brush technique. *scratches head* ANYway, it was fun-ish. I was lost for most of the time, not really knowing what to do. I’m pretty thoughtful and calculated, so it was hard for me to just shut my brain off and do things. It was weird. I didn’t like it very much. I didn’t like the finished product either. Still, I think it’s something I’d like to explore on my own, without an audience. Maybe Babe and I will get a few canvases and some paint, and muck around at home. Oh. And Babe? SO good. SO SO good. The woman has serious skills. I keep wondering what amazing talent/skill will show up next. Her painting was/is AMAZING. She wasn’t crazy about it, but I convinced her that it’s GREAT, and HAS to go on our wall. I’ll share a picture of it once we hang it up. Halfway through the workshop, we had to do a collaborative painting. Babe and I did an elephant. Really, SHE did it. I sort of did background crap. And the eye. She drew it, outlined it, etc. It’s NICE. I like IT, and I like that fact that we did it TOGETHER (in whatever proportions). Wherever we go, I think we have to take that elephant with us. That will always be the only elephant in the room (because we talk far too much/candidly to have any others).

After the workshop, we went to a church fair. The Catholic Cathedral was having it’s annual thingy. I knew about it because a lady in the building I work in was selling raffle tickets and I bought two for Babe and me. The church just so happens to be right across the street from the gallery. We were just going to check it out, but it was really nice. Lots of stalls and lots of good food! 🙂 We filled up on junk and sat around for a while. When we were good ‘n’ ready, we heading to the bus stop, three painting in tow. We got settled in, and went to sleep. We overslept. LOL. We always get so comfy when we cuddled up for these little naps. We ended up having to rush to get ready for our dinner date with Vanessa. I’ve mentioned Vanessa before. She’s super cool, and a good friend of ours. We like hanging out with her. There’s always lots of talking, and lots of laughs. That night, we splurged on a Wine Dinner at a restaurant near where I work. Get ready, because I’m sharing the menu.

Champagne upon arrival

Korbel Winery California Champagne, Brut Rose, California’s Russian River Valley

1st course

Pan seared Curried sea scallops with caramelised pears and crème fraise –

Kendall Jackson Vinters Private Reserve, Sauvignon Blanc, Santa Rosa California 2009

2nd Course

Apricot and Ginger glazed salmon filet over warm buckwheat soba noodle salad –

NOBLE Aconcagua ,Chardonnay, Mendoza Argentina 2009

3rd Course

Peppercorn and tarragon Beef tenderloin served over sweet potato mash and green beans

Sangre De Toro, Garnacha and Mazuelo, Catalunya Spain, 2009

4th course

Rosemary and vanilla slow roasted lamb shank over goat cheese stuffed portabella mushroom –

Telteca Roble, Malbec, Mendoza Argentina 2009

5th course

Dark Chocolate truffle mousse

 Henry of Pelham last harvest Riesling, Ontario Canada, 2008

 

You probably don’t need me to tell you that it was really good, right? Anyway, it was. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and the wine. Even me. And I’m kind of discriminating and critical with food. I don’t even like salmon OR lamb, but they both VERY good. Actually, I think I’m warming up to salmon a bit. Weird. Funny how our tastes change, right? Someday, I’ll explain my aversion to fish. Not today. The wine dinner started at 6:30, and we got home around 10:30pm. We had a solid 4 hours of a nice, relaxing time with good company. We all agreed that we should make an effort to do it regularly. We’re thinking once per month. This makes me happy. I LOVE eating out, and I REALLY enjoy getting to do it with people I really love.

This weekend, we’re doing a potluck dinner. Vanessa is gracious enough to host it. I’m looking forward to it. The three of us always have a good time together, PLUS my cousin and friend recently moved to Nassau, and I’ve been wanting them to meet Vanessa. I like introducing cool people to other cool people. Widening the circle. Vanessa is also inviting a friend I haven’t met yet. The menu is looking good, there will be drinkage, and the company is sure to be deeelightful. It’s Monday and I’m already looking forward to the weekend. Hahahaha.

Yesterday, Ma cooked up a hell of a Thanksgiving dinner. Thanksgiving isn’t a holiday here, but we DO tend to follow (US) fashion, so lots of restaurants will be preparing turkey dinners on Thursday. None will top the homemade dinner our family had yesterday. Ma is a HELL of a cook. We had white rice (most people will have peas ‘n’ rice, but we’re not big on that), mashed potato, (baked) macaroni, turkey, ham (which I passed on, of course), sweet potato, brocoli, carrots and green beans, stuffing… I think that was it. My stomach was very pleased with it. Ma is leaving for a cruise on Wednesday, and will be away for the next two Sundays. My aunt will probably take over the Sunday dinners, but I’ll be glad to spend those Sundays with Babe, having our own Sunday dinner.

Well, it’s time for me to get back to work. I just took half of my lunch break to do this post and eat my sandwich. The next half, I’ll spend trying to finish my short story. The deadline is NEXT WEEK! I want it done by end of day tomorrow so I can take a nice (two day) break from it before going back at it with my hatchet (editing).

And now, introducing Angelique Sabrina – a new, young Bahamian singer. She’s 13 years old, and she’s playing on the radio. The songs are cute/fun/catchy, and very age-appropriate, but somehow relatable?! ANYway, here’s one of them:

Speakerbox – Angelique Sabrina (I’ve been having issues with embedding YouTube videos lately. Anyone else?!)

Loser Blvd – Angelique Sabrina (This one is an actul video. I like it, except for all of the makeup and hair. Too old-looking, I think. Anyway, the song? I think it’s super cute. Reminds me of Avril Lavigne when she first came on the scene.)

What are you up to today? Wanna tell me about your weekend? The last one, the one before it, the one that’s coming… Take your pick, since I dished on all of them. LOL. OH! And are you working on any little projects?

Comments on: "Weekends of Enjoyment" (9)

  1. Funnnnnnnnnnn!

  2. love this post! it makes me want to fly on down and be right there doing all those things with you! …oh and eating all that amazing sounding food. you’d be hard pressed to find me saying no to either your wine or your thanksgiving menu!

    this weekend is low key for me. i’m going to try and get a run in (!!), spend some time with several friends, and generally do homework and relax. i’m thinking about refinishing an old piece of junky furniture one weekend soon though, should be a fun little DIY.

  3. Wow you are living the HIGH life, sister!

  4. C.A.Hayes said:

    sounds like an AWESOME weekend…especially the art date with the boo!

  5. […] at the same restaurant with the same host in November. I talked about it and shared the menu in this post. The next one will be on February 4. We are all super […]

Leave a Reply

