A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Narcissistic Personality Disorder is characterized by a long-standing pattern of grandiosity (either in fantasy or actual behavior), an overwhelming need for admiration, and usually a complete lack of empathy toward others. People with this disorder often believe they are of primary importance in everybody’s life or to anyone they meet. While this pattern of behavior may be appropriate for a king in 16th Century England, it is generally considered inappropriate for most ordinary people today.

People with narcissistic personality disorder often display snobbish, disdainful, or patronizing attitudes. For example, an individual with this disorder may complain about a clumsy waiter’s “rudeness” or “stupidity” or conclude a medical evaluation with a condescending evaluation of the physician.

In laypeople terms, someone with this disorder may be described simply as a “narcissist” or as someone with “narcissism.” Both of these terms generally refer to someone with narcissistic personality disorder.

Symptoms of Narcissistic Personality Disorder

In order for a person to be diagnosed with narcissistic personality disorder (NPD) they must meet five or more of the following symptoms:

  • Has a grandiose sense of self-importance(e.g., exaggerates achievements and talents, expects to be recognized as superior without commensurate achievements)
  • Is preoccupied with fantasies of unlimited success, power, brilliance, beauty, or ideal love
  • Believes that he or she is “special” and uniqueand can only be understood by, or should associate with, other special or high-status people (or institutions)
  • Requires excessive admiration
  • Has a very strong sense of entitlement, e.g., unreasonable expectations of especially favorable treatment or automatic compliance with his or her expectations
  • Is exploitative of others, e.g., takes advantage of others to achieve his or her own ends
  • Lacks empathy, e.g., is unwilling to recognize or identify with the feelings and needs of others
  • Is often envious of othersor believes that others are envious of him or her
  • Regularly shows arrogant, haughty behaviors or attitudes

As with all personality disorders, the person must be at least 18 years old before they can be diagnosed with it.

Narcissistic personality disorder is more prevalent in males than females, and is thought to occur in less than 1 percent in the general population.

Like most personality disorders, narcissistic personality disorder typically will decrease in intensity with age, with many people experiencing few of the most extreme symptoms by the time they are in the 40s or 50s.

Your total NPI score is 22.

The average score for the population is 15.3

The seven component traits by question:
Authority: 6
Self-Sufficiency: 4
Superiority: 3
Exhibitionism: 0
Exploitativeness: 4
Vanity: 3
Entitlement: 2

Celebrity NPI Scores
Robin Quivers, radio personality, 34
Pauly Shore, actor and comedian, 28
Adam Carolla, TV and radio personality, 28
Chelsea Handler, comedian and TV personality, 21
Adrianne Curry, reality TV star, 19
Bob Forrest, musician, 19
Ron Jeremy, adult film actor, 16
Dr. Drew Pinsky, TV and radio personality, 16
Howard Stern, radio personality, 15
Diora Baird, model and actress, 11
Frankie Muniz, actor, 10

Well then! Good to know, I guess…

While I go to look in the mirror, you should take this test. And share your info. We’re all family here. Right?

What’s your score? Do you think it’s accurate? How hard did you laugh at it?

Comments on: "Narcissistic Personality Inventory Test" (28)

  1. I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Go to my post http://jadedstone11.wordpress.com/2011/11/19/versatile-blogger-award/ to see how it works. Keep up the great writing 🙂

  2. hahaha! I didn’t know how to answer and ended with a six! What does that mean?

    • That means you’re not NEARLy as into yourself as you should be, woman! Ok, no. Kidding. You scored below the average, so I guess you’re nowhere near narcissistic. This is why I’m better than you. Oops. Sorry. That was the narcissism talking. You da bomb dot com!

      On Sat, Nov 19, 2011 8:02 PM EST

  3. My answer was eight.

  4. I scored a 2 and feel I was pressured into those answers.

    Here’s the thing: I do influence people. I know it because people come to me all the time for advice and I see them take it. On the other hand, if you ever get advice from me, it’s probably given several caveats of “You KNOW I don’t know what’s right for you, I can hardly live my own life.”

    When they talk about leadership and that, in school, I was always told that I was a natural leader and I wanted nothing to do with any of them (other than protecting those being bullied, you want to see Godzilla rise? That’s when I get a whole lot “bigger”).

    People also tell me (my whole life) that I’m an attention-seeker. I say I’m the opposite. I can’t help that I’m weird. It’s because I’m MENTAL, hence “mad tante.” I’m your batty auntie, have always been. I’m eccentric. That’s not something I try at. I wish I could blend in more. I can’t because it’s not me. I have this feeling if I could just be normal, maybe I could be normal? That’s not saying I’m special, it’s saying I’m a freak, which is the opposite of being full of oneself BUT it’s still ego-centric because I *am* overly concerned with “me.” I hate that I’m not more normal. Make sense? Probably not.

    • These tests tend to force you to choose between extremes. A lot of time neither answer is really the RIGHT answer for us, but we must CHOOSE, and what we CHOOSE must say something about us. Apparently.

      Actually, I completely get what you’re saying. You explained it well.

      I think it’s cool to be different. Whatever you wanna call it. Weird, different, special, freakish, odd, misfit… Whatever. Who CARES what label people wanna put on it?! As long as you’re able to see YOU. Too many people run away from the labels other people put on them, and end up covering up their true selves just to be in the melting pot. I prefer a world that’s more of a mosaic. Lots of different people, different personalities, different looks… It all comes together and makes some beautiful. Yeah, it’s often kind of tragic too, with the vast difference in morals and values, but hey! Good with the bad. Gotta take it all.

      I’m glad you at least KNOW yourself. That’s gotta be about half the battle. Being comfortable with yourself and LOVING yourself… Those are the important ones that seem to take a bit more time for some of us. And really… Who doesn’t at least deserve SELF-love? If you are it, then LOVE it. 🙂

      Oh. And a big SCREW YOU to “normal.” Normal sucks. Far too boring. Let’s just all be odd and weird and special, and colour up one another’s lives. Whaddayasay?

  5. This post is very interesting!

    TEST RESULTS
    …I must have done something wrong – lol!

    —-
    Your total NPI score is 3.

    The average score for the population is 15.3

    The seven component traits by question:
    Authority: 1
    Self-Sufficiency: 1
    Superiority: 1
    Exhibitionism: 0
    Exploitativeness: 0
    Vanity: 0
    Entitlement: 0

    • I do NOT believe your score. LOL. *sighs* You’re a better woman than me, you are. I like the things you got an actual score (above 0) on. 😉

      ________________________________

  6. I’m a 10. Clueless.

  7. I like that you like the areas I scored on… no pun intended – he he Oh.. I forgot to say congrats on the new “Versatile Blogger” award too – Um and.. no pun intended there either

  8. how interesting!!!
    i love chelsea handler so maybe i love narcissts? or however the hell you spell that?

  9. Your total NPI score is 14.

    The average score for the population is 15.3

    The seven component traits by question:
    Authority: 2
    Self-Sufficiency: 4
    Superiority: 2
    Exhibitionism: 0
    Exploitativeness: 3
    Vanity: 0
    Entitlement: 3

    I dunno how I got all that lol.

  10. […] think, people-pleasing, perfectionism–when nothing we do is good enough I recently did the Narcissism “survey” on conchsaladesques’s blog. I got a 2 (average is […]

  11. […] Narcissistic Personality Disorder Test Could Find the Reason Why Someone Could Be NarcissisticNarcissistic Personality Inventory TestCufon.replace('#header h1, #header h3', { fontFamily: "" });Cufon.replace('#header p.tagline', { […]

Leave a Reply

