A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Happy November!

Did I mention that my internet situation is not good right now? We don’t have it at home, and we may not bother at all. Or we might. I saw a special in the paper. Something like $15/month for the first 3 months, $30 for the modem, and the other 9 months are $30. Or something. That’s a pretty sweet deal. We may go with that some time this week. At work, well, ya know. It’s a brand new office. The electrician just ran the wires or whatever on Friday. The tech guy is gonna come help me out at some point with hooking up the phone and the DSL modem. Actually, I’m in his office right now, using his internet. We can’t get into my office because of a slight disaster. I mentioned before, I think, that on my floor, there is a kitchen. Well, the ladies from the 3rd floor (I’m on the 4th) use it quite a bit. Today, they decided to leave two eggs boiling. I went out for hot chocolate, and met everyone outside of the building, and a weird noise coming from inside. Yep. Fire alarm. Needless to say, it is VERY smoky up there. I moved my office to the stairwell. Eventually, tech guy felt sorry for me, and told me to occupy his office. He’s out anyway.

So today, I bring you the things I didn’t get to say for the last little while.

  • Babe is back! Babe is back! Babe is back! I’m so freaking happy! (You should envision me jumping up and down right now.) We both thought she was getting back TONIGHT, but the itinerary changed. She got back last night. I was sound asleep (which is rare for me), when I got the sweetest kisses. I’d spent the evening cleaning like mad and cooking, just in case a hungry beast busted through the front door. Hahaha. Apparently, EXHAUSTION > HUNGER. Neither one of us ate. So I got a nice, warm body in bed with me last night, for the first time in a while. Do I have to tell you how hard it was for me to get out of bed this morning?
  • Grace & Mercy

    Yesterday, I went to The Potting Shed. I REALLY needed to bring some life and colour to my office space. What better way to do that than with a plant?! I spent my entire lunch hour (and then some) driving to and from TPS. SO worth it. I want a lot more stuff than I got. I told myself that Babe and I can go there at some point, after we’ve purchased real furniture. We can’t just have plants and cool things littered all over the place. I stuck with office things. I got a very nice orchid, and a sweet little pot to put it in. The colours on the pot blend really well with Ride for Hope colours. I also got a turtle. A pottery thingy. What’s the proper name for such things? I don’t know. Anyway, the turtle is GREEN! Like my favourite green. It has some random designs on it’s back too, but I just like the green. And the little face. It’s SO cute. The turtle is one of the two animals I really like. The other is the ELEPHANNNNNT! Oh, I also like fish… Like, in an aquarium, lookin’ pretty. So, YAY! Grace & Mercy in the hizzouse! Err… In the OFFICCCCCE! Doesn’t have the same ring, does it? And yes. I named them Grace & Mercy. (Closeups coming tomorrow for Wordless Wednesday.)

  • I’ve had my mom’s car since Sunday morning. She’s away. I’ve been getting around pretty nicely. It makes life kinda simple. BUT. Boyyy, do ya have to spend some moolah on gas!
  • 2005 Toyota Passo

    I’m in the market for a car. To tell you the whole story of family involvement would take too long for this quick post. Maybe I’ll explain it all in another. (Yeah, I know. I say things like that all the time, and rarely ever back ’em up. Sorreh!) I found one that I really like. A 2005 Toyota Passo. It is CA-YUUUTE! To the tune of almost $10,000.  I don’t have that. LOL. I also like Honda Fits. Also about $10,000. Same dilemma. Where do I find this money?! I have no idea. My dad keeps directing me to Honda Accords. I’m all like, “Dude. I SAID I don’t want an Accord. They’re too big.” He continues to send me place and tell me about Accords he’s seen. All because he’s a Honda freak. On Monday, he actually BBMed me, “You don’t want a matchbox.” Me: “Accctuallyyy… I kinda do…” LOL. I’m probably going to end up getting a car behind his back, so to speak, if I ever find the money.

2005 Toyota Passo - Interior. Not as small as it looks, right?

  • NaNoWriMo! I’m one of the crazies of the world that’s attempting to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. November is the month to doit! It’s all about getting the ideas on paper. Banging it out. Getting the words down. It’s not expected to be perfect and ready for publishing. Whatever is written will definitely need editing. This is just to encourage writers to get their novel ideas (See what I did there?!) down, without worrying about editing or making things perfect while writing it. It’s also a fun thing to do for non-writers. You can sign up for all kinds of things that send your novel into crazy places. Some people get very interactive and let others name their characters, decide what should happen next, and throw twist at them that they have to work into the story. A lot of people even decide to be NanoRebels. They follow the rules, but instead of writing a novel (which is actually a rule), they write a screenplay, or series of short stories, or whatever. Cool, right? I encourage you to join in the fun! Even if you don’t wanna write a novel, you can be a NaNoRebel. It starts today, and I still don’t know if I wanna be ruled, or a rebel.
  • I’m entering a short story competition. Babe sent me an email with a link, and it looks kinda cool. I’m not really expecting anything to come of it, but things like this always push me to write. I’m gonna give it a go. Why the heck not?! Even if it doesn’t win, I’ll have a shiny, ne short story. It can’t have been published anywhere (except for personal blogs), so it’ll be brand new. I think I’ll share it with you at some point. I have a plot in mind. I’m still working out the little pieces. The crazy/cool thing? the deadline is November 30. The SAME DAY that NaNoWriMo ends. See why I may choose to be a rebel?! No matter what, I plan to have the short story done by November 20. That’ll give me time to take a break from it, then go back, read it, and tweak it as needed. Wish me luck with this! I’d really like to win, although I don’t expect to. Hahaha.

Well, now I’ve got to do some work. No lunch for me until I hate my halfway mark with work for today. I’m having food from FamJam (Sunday). I usually eat it on Mondays, but yesterday, vegan split pea soup w/ dumplings was on the menu. (We get delivery from two restaurants on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays. We’re so fancy here.) I could not resist. I ordered it, and put FamJam food in the fridge for today. I’ll enjoy that with my nice big bottle of water. I’m going to be well-hydrated for the run this evening. It feels SO good to get home in time to run. Post-run energy is great. I don’t think I’ll ever stop. This is going to be a great month of 5k training, writing, having nice weekends with Babe, and getting into the groove at work.

What’s been going on with you? Are you taking on any new challenges? What does November have in store for you?

Comments on: "Happy November!" (4)

  1. Eek. I’m going to try NaNoWriMo too! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

