A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Gotta do a two-in-one today. My internet connection yesterday (which is a wireless connection from TWO FLOORS DOWN was terrible. It was never up for more than 5 minutes. I figured I’d just save it for today before my thankfulness faded into annoyance. That wouldn’t have been good, right? Anyway, I’m hoping they come to hook up my phone line and internet today.

Ok, here we go! This week, I’m thankful for:

  • The good fortune I’ve had this week in getting to work on time. I decided on a time to leave the house to get the bus, and the maximum wait period for the second bus once I get downtown. It’s worked really well, and I haven’t been less than 10 minutes early on any day. YAY, me!
  • The pretty lady who gets up super early to make sure we both get breakfast, packed lunches and snacks, and out the door in time, and takes the walk (in the dark) to the bus stop with me, and takes the ride downtown (way earlier than she really needs to). How fortunate am I?!
  • New BlackBerry! YAY! It’s a work phone, so I don’t use it for personal calls (though this wasn’t stipulated), but it’s great for BBM, apps, internet access, etc.
  • A job that I like and I am happy to show up for from Monday to Friday.
  • Things to do that I actually care to do.
  • The training run done on Wednesday. Completely unexpected. A lady in the building who knows (and was sort of raised by) by great-grandmother gave me a ride, so I got home a LOT earlier than the other days, so it was early enough run with Babe.
  • Breakfast! Makes the day go so much better.
  • Cooler weather. I love sweaters and scarfs. It’s not time for them yet (not that it will get too much colder), but I’m excited about it. I also like the nice, cuddly sleep it encourages.
  • Time changing soon. It’ll be lighter in the evenings, so I could actually get back on track with running. 7pm, right now, is too dark.
  • Forever 21 order I placed. Babe and I will be getting some more work-appropriate clothes in a week or two. Yippeeeeee! Still need more, but we’re taking it step-by-step. A little bit this week, a little bit next week. By the end of the year, we should be good to go!
  • Love. Appreciation. Understanding. Kindness. Goodness. Genuine concern. Communication. Her.
  • The massive improvement in my water consumption. My body is getting used to it, now that I’ve been paying special attention to it, and sort of drinking on a schedule. Now, I’m even getting thirsty. This never happened before because my body was just so used to being dehydrated. Crazy, I know. Now, I’m finishing about 28oz. per day.
  • My body. It’s pretty nice home.

 

And now, for Five Question Friday!

1. Where do you escape to when you’ve had enough?
The shower. A nice hot shower. Or the street. For a bike ride. If I need to cry, the shower wins. If I have pent up something-or-other to get out, bike ride. When I build up endurance, I think running may be a new escape for me. I’d like to be in a place where I can run off to a family island (less developed, less commercial island of The Bahamas) for a weekend to relax, unwind, be at one with the… Something. The beach.
2. What shows are you watching this fall?
None. We still don’t have cable, and I don’t see the need for it. We were going to get it, but I’m not so sure now. It’s not like we really watch tv. And it’s easy to download tv shows, or watch them online. (I’m not even sure we’re going to get the internet.) Life is just simple and peaceful right now. Less distractions and interruptions. Unnecessary ones. I like the way it is now.
3. What was the longest roadtrip you’ve ever taken and where did you go?
From Nova Scotia to New Brunswick, I think. I don’t remember how long it took. No, wait. I took a bus from Toronto to Niagra Falls. Maybe that was longer. I don’t know.
4. Do you plan on taking your kids to Disney World?
Definitely. I plan on taking MYSELF to Disney World as well. Babe and I will probably do a Disney World trip next year. (I only went once, on the 6th grade class trip.) I’ll have to remember to ask about it and see what her thoughts are. But seriously. Who doesn’t wanna go to Disney World?!
5. What is something people would surprised to know about you?
Hmmm… That my mind makes frequent trips to the gutter?
Comments on: "Thankful Thursday + Five Question Friday" (14)

  1. forever 21 is awesome. and so is breakfast. i was bad and had mcdonalds mcgriddle this morning.mmmm.,

    • Yes! F21! I love getting tanks for $2.80.
      McDonald’s for breakfast? Look at you, being all smart and getting a quick one! We spend forever making breakfast at our place. Lol.

  2. No cable???? I DIE

  3. I’ve never been to Disney. My grandparents took my older brother and left me at home and told me that I would be able to go when they took my little cousin because she was they couldn’t handle all of us at once. When she got old enough to go I was “too old”. I’m still a little bitter about this, can you tell?

    • Oh, your bitterness is SO justified. I WENT and I’m still bitter that it had to be a school trip. One that my dad almost didn’t let me go on. Hail all convincing mothers!
      You neeeed to go to Disney. And don’t feel like you have to save up a billion dollars to take the children. Just you and hubby can go. No one will judge you. As long as you tell them you’re going to Vegas or something other than Disney.

  4. Hello! I love this post! Would you mind if I have my own version of this?

  5. 1. Where do you escape to when you’ve had enough?
    The gym! Or starbucks!
    2. What shows are you watching this fall?
    We WERE watching Biggest Loser, but we moved out of our temp housing so no more cable!!
    3. What was the longest roadtrip you’ve ever taken and where did you go?
    Literally just got back from a Minnesota-Colorado road trip, but I’ve also done Minnesota-Florida. Yuck!
    4. Do you plan on taking your kids to Disney World?
    I’ve nver been. I seriously need to go sometime.
    5. What is something people would surprised to know about you?
    I hate ketchup! lol

    • YAY! Thanks for joining the fun. I liked reading your answers.
      You neeeeeed to go to Disney! SO fun.
      You’re in the No Cable club. WOOT, WOOT!
      Annnd I don’t like ketchup either. I tolerate it on burgers and hot dogs. That’s about it. On my fries? No. On my rice (like weirdo do)? NO. On my macaroni? NOOOOO. Steak? No. Chicken? No. (Unless it’s the Bahamian chicken-in-the-bag specialty that MUST be smothered in ketchup – even though I wipe half of it off)

  6. Julia (AKA Jules) said:

    glad to see the job is going well.

    And I LOVE Forever 21! London’s just got a store, but as I’m too lazy I haven’t been yet, well there’s a few stores that’s opening up closer to where I live so I’ll pay them a visit soon!

    Jules
    http://andsuddenlyisee.wordpress.com / http://wordshakermag.wordpress.com

  7. I’ve been to Disney Paris, loved it!!

Leave a Reply

