A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

New Week, New Job

What a busy, busy time! I was internet-less all weekend, and most of the day. I don’t have a dedicate internet connection in my office yet. Soon, soon, soon! I’m working out of the conference room in the building my immediate principal (Susan) works in. My office is in a different building.

It’s my first day on the job! WOO! I’m loving it so far. I’m working on a little project that shouldn’t take me too long, but it’s pretty detailed, and it’s doing a great job of initiating me. There’s quite a bit for me to absorb, and it’s happening quickly and easily, through work. This is the way I prefer to learn. Susan says it’s “baptism by fire.” I’m more than okay with it.

My office is super cute. It’s on a floor with a bunch of storage and a shared kitchen. Mine is the only office on the floor. The only time other people are up there is when they’re accessing files (which I don’t think really happens very much) and when they’re having lunch. That’s all fine by me. Oh. My office has a SKY LIGHT! I’ve probably never mentioned this, but I LOVE sky lights. If it had a window seat, I think I would have lost my mind. I’ll try to take and post pictures later this week.

Tomorrow, I’ll be running errands with Susan. We’re going to get a BlackBerry for me (YAAAYYY!), office supplies, and I think do a few other things. I’m excited about the back-to-schoolness of it all. Can you tell?

I would love to give you a better synopsis of my weekend, but this is the best I can do for now:

  • Went for the run with Babe. It was kind of tough. The morning runs seem to be harder on us. It’s clear that it’s better for us to fuel up throughout the day. Running on empty – No bueno. Anyway, we pushed. Instead up running down the highway, turning around and coming back, we took the loop around so we came up a regular street. A street with a hill. Yeah. I TOLD you we pushed. Guess what. It was out best time yet. WOO! *dances*
  • After the run, I ended up in bed all day. Massive headache. The change in routine (being off from work >>> not snacking through the day) messed me up. I am definitely one of those people who needs to snack between meals. The headache… I can’t even describe it to you. It as pretty bad.
  • Great meeting with Susan on Saturday. Got my feet a little wet, saw my office space and fell in love with it, and met a few cool people (security and front desk).
  • Had lunch with my dad when we picked me up from the meeting. We went to Mahogany House and shared a 12 pizza, half seafood + half mediterranean. We stopped into the little shop outside of the restaurant and I bought some butter. Justin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter and Justin’s Almond Butter. I’ve never really been a peanut butter fan, but figured, HEY! There’s CHOCOLATE in it. And peanut butter seems to be a lot of runners’ salvation. Sign me up for trials. Tasted them both. Not bad. Will blog about usage.
  • Sunday was the usual FamJam. Good times. I was kind of annoyed that the meats were that-little-stupid-mini-chicken (cornish hen?) and lamb. I hate them both. I had a LOT of starch. My plate was 60% rice and mashed potato, and 40% stuffing, carrots, green beans, and broccoli. I guess I can’t win EVERY week, huh?
  • Spent the night at my great-grandmother’s. She lives much closer to where I work, and said she’d drive me. I haven’t quite figured the bus out yet. I missed Babe a lot.
  • Today – First day on the job. AWESOME!
  • My great-grandmother is probably picking me up from work this evening. Annnd taking me to her house. My dad is supposed to be commanded (by the matriarch herself) to pick me up from her house and take me home. This means no run tonight. I am OVERdue. This SUCKS. My Vibrams are at home. When I run again (TOMORROW), it’s going to be hard on me. It’ll feel like the first friggin’ time. I’m not impressed. I couldn’t plan for this at all, but I still should have. UGH.
  • There’s a gym in my office building. I have to find out where it is. Maybe I can get runs in o my lunch break if I need to. I wonder if there are showers… Hmmm…

I should be able to return to my regular posting habits soon. Until then, I’ll try to keep up with your posts and comments, and update my ever-growing list of blog post ideas/topics.

HAPPY MONDAAAAAYYYYY!

Comments on: "New Week, New Job" (14)

  1. It’s awesome that you’re loving your new job. Congrats on the sky light! I but it’s great.

  2. Keep us posted! Sounds like you hit the jackpot with this job!!

  3. glad you love your job and that your office is super cute!
    i wanna come visit you one day! << that was me inviting myself 😛

  4. I can feel your excitement about your new job. Congrats! I just wish I have the motivation to run as much as you do….uugghhh…

    • Thanks! 🙂
      Oh, it can happen in the blink of an eye. I seriously used to say that I HATE running (having never run outside of P.E. class), and now I’m sort of addicted. I’m even twitching now, from being deprived. 😦

  5. Congrats on the new job! Well done on the running, evenings are defently better, run then EAT then SLEEP! 🙂

    • Thanks!
      Yeah, you’re right. I should have just checked with you instead of experimenting. Back to the normal routine this evening. If this rain could just stop/not travel to my part of the island.

  6. Glad to hear the new job is going well, yay!

  7. Julia (AKA Jules) said:

    congrats on your new job!
    Jules

Leave a Reply

