A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Weekend Wrap-Up

Whassup, whassuuuuup?

So, I started a new blog to keep record of my new life, being a runner and all. Wait. I’m not a runner. Not yet. If anything, I’m a walk-runner. I’m working on it though. I’m getting there. If you’re a runner, or you want to be, or you’re just starting out, or you’re into fitness, or you’d like to read about my randomness including training for the 5k, nutrition, and cross-training, hop on over to Cake Walks & Ice Cream Runs. That’s where I keep that info. I’m just starting, with the blog and the running, so you get to see the entire journey. Seriously, you should check it out. And follow.

Let’s see… What can I share with you today? My weekend was pretty normal. I was supposed to run on Saturday after work. I ended up only snacking all day, and not having lunch, and I did a terrible job with my water. It wasn’t a good idea to run, so I didn’t. I decided to go on Sunday morning instead. It wasn’t good. My Nike+ sensor was loose in my Bikila Vibrams, so it slid around, and was a general annoyance to my foot. SO uncomfortable. And what did I get for my discomfort? Stupid stats. Half the time, the sensor was sideways in my shoe, so it wasn’t picking up all of my steps. Results: Bad, bad, bad stats. Near zero accuracy, I’d say. At the end, it said I did something like 15.xx minutes per mile. FOOLISHNESS! My first training run was 11.54 minutes per mile. I know I went slower, and had to push a lot harder due to the diaper I had to wear my condition, but it couldn’t be that much worse. Seriously. So, yeah. I felt it. It was hard. My left foot hurt from the sensor. AND the stats were crappy and probably definitely not accurate. I wasn’t happy. But I did not cry. Estrogen did not win that one. No, ma’am.

Around 1pm, my brother picked me up, as usual, for FamJam. Ma did steaks. PERFECT. I’m no big fan of red meat, but it’s just what I needed. My iron level needed a boost. I’m already anaemic, I ran that morning, and had been losing iron for days. YAY, STEAK! FamJam was cool. On the way back home, some idiot was in front of us. My brother wasn’t impressed.

He said, “Sissy f#<k!ng faggot dip weep jerk!” <<< BAHAHAHAHAAHHAAH!

I fought to keep from laughing. When I knew he was calm, I said, “Hey… What’s a dip weep?”

He said, “I don’t even know. I don’t know where that came from. Sounded cool. Maybe I heard someone say that before.”

We both laughed. It was pretty funny. I thought about it for a while, then I just had to point it out.

“You know that being a sissy-f#<k!ng faggot is pretty consistent, right? Like… It makes sense. That’s… I mean… You know…”

He laughed. He knew I had him. I thought it was great.

On Monday, Babe had things to do. Appointments and such. She asked me if I wanted to tag along. I was down. We left home around noon and we finished up everything by 3pm. We took a walk to the electricity corporation to pay our bill. [insert scary music of dungeons and doom and death here] We were both pretty nervous because it’s our first bill (which never came in the mail), we had no idea what to expect, and we’re tight on cash right now. She went and stood in line while I went to get our account information and bill amount. She looked terrified as I walked over with the little card. It was hilarious. We were preparing for something in the area of $100-$200. The bill was $26.22! Twenty six dollars and twenty two cents! We ended up laughing. Nearly bent-over. On the line. Laughing. As people in front of us and behind us were mad as hell, mean-mugging as they wait to pay their probably-over-$200 bills. We couldn’t help it.

Babe: “You get this one. I’ll buy lunch.”

Me: “DEAL!”

Fun stuff. I’m still grinning, just thinking about it.

From there, we went to the meat mart. We were really just waiting for the bus, but I saw a sign in the window saying 6-packs (of Coca-Cola) for $2.99. That is a DEAL around here. We decided to go for it. Of course, we ended up shopping. I mean, HEY! It’s a meat mart. We got some meat. And bread. And relish. (I have no idea how we’ve been eating hot dogs all this time without relish.) And shrimp! I haven’t made shrimp pasta in forever. Anyway, we were laden down with bags as we waited for the bus. FINALLY, a bus came. We got about 10 yards before we got hit by another bus. *sighs*

If you read my post on the buses in Nassau, you know that it’s terrible. There is no regulation, really. There are no schedules. Anyone can buy a bus, pick a route, and drive along it whenever they want. This means that there could be 3 buses on the same route on the same street at any time. Of course, the bus that’s in front will pick up the most passengers. For that reason, buses are constantly overtaking one another. AGGRESSIVELY. Dangerously. They always need to be in front. They have to make the most money. It’s disgusting, really. That’s what happened here. The bus behind us sped up and switched lanes (on a two-lane one-way road) to overtake the bus we were on. The bus we were on saw it happening, and moved to the middle of the road to stop the second bus from getting ahead. Annnnnd SWIIIIIIIIIIIPE. We all had to get off of the bus and get on a third bus that came along 2 minutes later. See how bad the system is?! It’s ridiculous. One minute, you can have a choice of 5 buses, and 10 minutes later, you could be stuck waiting for 40 minutes for another 7 buses to come along. It’s horrible. Luckily for us, we move at popular hours. When people need to get to and from work. So buses are plentiful.

Here’s how it looked as we drove away in the third bus (which was far more comfortable and air conditioned:

Pathetic. Traffic was blocked. The buses couldn’t move. By law, they had to stay there until the traffic police got to the scene to evaluate. The people behind them were pissssssed. We, however, were on our way home!

When we got home, we had homemade spaghetti with garlic bread. Babe went straight to work in the kitchen. It was good. We meant to go for a bike ride, but I ended up falling asleep while Babe finished reading Lullabies For Little Criminals (a great book – one of my faves).

Random fact about me: I am a terrible napper. I am either awake or asleep. Once I get to sleep, that is IT. For a whiiiiile.

I never got back up (in daylight) to ride. We just showered, and settled in. We watched The Killing Room (fricking CRAZY movie!) and had popcorn and hot chocolate. We had a good day, and a nice little evening. I love that the little things in life are so enjoyable. Especially with special people. [insert hearts, butterflies, cups of tea, and cupcakes here]

How was your weekend? What made you laugh in the last two days? Most importantly, will you follow my new blog?

Comments on: "Weekend Wrap-Up" (2)

  1. Cant believe busses are like that where you live. Where I live they are SO organized its unreal! Home made spag bowel is my fave 🙂

Leave a Reply

