A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

You With Me?

Today, I feel some sort of way. This week, really. I’m fighting it pretty steadily. Though I can’t define it, I know that it isn’t good. Little things make me want to cry, or swear, or tell someone off. And this morning, I sort of felt like I should never have gotten out of bed. Bleh. I haaate that feeling. I keep shaking my booty. You know… To shake it off. We can’t have that attitude [DMX voice] UP IN HERE, UP IN HERE!

SELF, errr, BLOG MOTIVATED

I decided that I don’t want to talk to anyone in my real life about my physical activities. I get better support from the blogosphere or whatever. People in my real life have ancient thoughts, opinion, and expectations of me. I don’t need the extra weight. I don’t intend to impress anyone. I’m not on a mission to change any minds. I just want to continue to do what I want to do. Regardless. When I feel like cycling, I will. When I feel like running, I will. When I’m ready to do my first 5k, I will. If, after that, I want to do more, I will. Yeah, it sucks that there won’t be anyone cycling with me, or cheering me on as I run, but whatever. It’s probably better that way.

RIDING SOLO VS. DOING IT TOGETHER

At some point in my life, I did EVERYthing alone. I didn’t see the need for the “buddy system” in every little thing. If I felt like going to the club and dancing, I got dolled up, and walked – yes, by myself – to the club. I bought my own drinks, danced by myself (or with random, fun people I met there), and left when I was good and ready. I saw LOTS of movies by myself. I made meals and enjoyed them alone. No big deal.

Now, there’s someone super special in my life. I like to call that special someone my SupaSupa (and sometimes “Babe”). Because everything is super, really. It’s kind of like having my own superhero. Anyway, a lot of the things I’m used to doing on my own, or by myself, I sort of factor my SupaSupa into. Sometimes, I stop myself because I think it’s unfair. There are things I like that she really doesn’t. She’s not into the whole get-active thing. At all. It bothers me a little, I have to admit. I feel like it’s very important to break out of sedentary lifestyles. We weren’t made to just sit around all the time. We need to walk. Get fresh air. Kick balls around. Whatever. DO things. REAL things. Not just play with iPhones and eat ice cream all the time. It scares me, actually. I wonder what kind of condition she’ll be in 10 or 20 years from now. I’m absolutely positive that more active people live healthier, happier, longer lives, and are much better with keeping up with children and grandchildren. Maybe this is selfish of me. I want her to keep up, be healthy, and love life. Even if she doesn’t want to run. Hahaha.

Anyway, I’m not sure how I got to be rambling, but listen. I’m starting a new blog. I’ll use it to track my progress with various things. I think the focus will largely be on running. There’ll be a little cycling in there too, some healthy-ish (because you know I like my chocolates and cheeses) recipes, pictures of random things I come across, etc. Don’t worry. Conchsaladeque is staying the same. I won’t bore you with my distances, times, and fruit smoothies. So stick around. Deal?

BOOKS

Remember that wish list I posted the other day? Got started on it. My wishlist on F21 is super long. I’ll probably order 25% of the stuff on the weekend. MUST look good for work. Annnnnd, we ordered NookBooks this morning! Here’s what we got:

Lullabies for Little Criminals – One of my favourite books EVER. Heartbreakingly hilarious. Wait. That’s weird. But that’s what it is. *shrugs* Babe has to read it, and I need to read it again. And again.)

Catching Fire (Hunger Games #2) – Read #1. Really liked it when I was completely prepared (and expecting) to hate it. Had Babe read it last week. She REALLY liked it. Round 2, comin’ up!

Unlikely Disciple: A Sinner’s Semester At America’s Holiest University – Got the free sample on my Nook. Read it. It’s exactly what the titles says. Hooked. Need the whole thing.

Mayhem in High Heels – Okay. So I got hooked on these short, girly novels by Gemma Halliday. Not my style at all, but so fitting for the lunch hour. Like a guilty pleasure. Reminds me of my Desperate Housewives stint. I think the first ones I got were $1.99 or something, so I figured I couldn’t lose. I didn’t.

Hollywood Headlines Mysteries (3 books) – Um, more Gemma?! Another series of mindless lunch-hour reads? Yes, please.

Shoot Me – Another of my faves. By an Atlantic Canadian author. I saw a little selection of books by Lesley Crewe in Bookmark, the bookstore on Spring Garden Road, in Halifax. (I’ve been WAITING for her books to be available for Nooks!) I bought two of them. LOVED them both. This is one of them. Another must-read for Babe.

Relative Happiness – By Lesley Crewe. I just had to.

Lots of reading, coming right up!

MUSIC

In her Sunday Songs post this week, Vix shared a song that I REALLY like, so I’m sharing it with you.

And since I referenced the song and everything, here’s a lil [insert DMX dog bark here] DMX.

And a lil something from Cher Lloyd, ’cause I think she’s cool, and I’m still not over yesterday’s discovery.

 

How’s your week going? Did you make any fun purchases? Would you rather take on a challenge by yourself, or with a buddy?

Comments on: "You With Me?" (3)

  1. […] NookBooks! The list of books I got is in this post. YAY! I can’t tell you, and you can’t imagine, how ridiculously excited I get about new […]

  2. Way to go Alicia! Stay positive.

    I know its HARD! Am trying to tell myself the same thing. Be healthy! Be healthy! Be healthy!

Leave a Reply

