A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

I Gotta Snack!

The work day is LONG. I have iron-deficiency anaemia. Those are two good reasons for me to eat frequently. If I don’t have snacks, the day does not go well. I get super cranky. I feel ill. I feel tired. I want to kill people. You know… So I make sure I have food. Not just my lunch. Snackage. I toss at least one pre-packaged snack in my bag, and at least one fresh snack. I prefer when a fruit or vegetable is included. I have breakfast before leaving home, have 2 snacks before lunch, have lunch, and rush home to dinner. Yeah… I gotta have my food.

My faves are:

  • Banana slices with nutella
  • Apple slices with nutella
  • Kirkland’s Best Fruit & Nut mix – Amazing mix of dried cranberries, dried cherries, almonds, walnuts, and dry-roasted pistachios. YUM!
  • Welch’s Fruit Snacks (Blue package)
  • Cheddar cheese slices and cream crackers
  • Fritos (Terrible, I know. This is for lazy mornings.)
  • Cheese Puffs (Yeah… Like the one just above.)
  • Carrot sticks
  • Cucumber + Tomato (either with a little Italian dressing, or sour cream and a little salt and black pepper)
  • Blueberries + Kiwi (LOVE this combo!)
  • Almonds
  • Smoothies (I haven’t made one in ages. *sighs*)
  • Navel Oranges (cut up)
On my list to try: Kind Bars (They look like YUM!)
How many times do you eat every day? What do you like to snack on? What’s your favourite snack to have at your desk? Any suggestions for quick things to toss in my bag for snacks?
Comments on: "I Gotta Snack!" (4)

  1. Have you ever tried banana chips in Nutella? To die for!!
    I have to snack throught the day also. Fresh or dried fruits and veggies and almonds or cashews are my favorites.

    • Would banana chips be the same as plantain chips? If so, I forgot their existence! Plantain chips used to be one my favourite things to get in Miami (in the Cuban shops).
      Banana chips in nutella… Oh, boy. I think you’re on to something there!
      You should definitely try the Kirkland’s mix, based on your faves.

  2. Melba toast and Laughing cow cheese, low fat….yum…

Leave a Reply

