A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Five Question Friday!

1. Do you apologize to your kids children if you’re wrong?
What foolishness is THAT?! I’M the parent. I’m always right. Whether I’m right or wrong. The sooner they learn that, the easier their lives will be.
Aren’t you glad I don’t have children yet? Honestly, I fully intend to acknowledge and apologize for my wrongs. It’s important to set that example. I got a lot of fussing that wasn’t rightfully mine when I was younger. Mostly because my younger brother never admitted to anything, and I never felt the need to exert the energy required to put up a big enough fight to save my good name. I never really did anything bad. It was strange that my parents thought that I suddenly started doing stupid things. I couldn’t be bothered to protest. If ASKED, I’d say, “No, I didn’t.” If they didn’t accept that, I’d just let ’em go in. A lot of times, they’d realize that I really didn’t do whatever I got in trouble for. Yelling, swearing, threatening. Whatever. Did anyone ever apologize? No. What did I learn from that? That it’s embarrassing to apologize, and it’s much more important to keep one’s pride. To this day, I have to really sort of pep talk myself when I know it’s right to give an apology. It’s hard, but after kicking myself around a little, I do it.
2. Do you have a class ring, Letterman’s jacket, or similar obscenely priced high school “must have”?
I have a class ring. I still wear it, even though I’ve since graduated from university. It’s actually on my wedding ring finger. I put it there so that people would think that I’m married, at a glance. Also, when people asked why it’s on that finger, I always said, “Because I’m married to school.” Real meaning: Don’t mess with me. I’m about the books, and they come before the boys. NOT. INTERESTED. Yeah, I was pretty hardcore from back then. The plan was to stop wearing it when I got my university ring, which I would wear on my middle finger. I never went to pick it up. *sighs* Now I want it. I’d also like to note that my grandmother goes on and on every time she sees me with the ring on that finger. Old people (here, at least) think it’s bad luck to wear a ring on that finger. “Hard luck,” actually. Pssh! WHATEVER! How much harder could my luck get with the whole marriage deal, really? I already have to go to a specific state (or Canada) to get married. LOL.

3. If you could be one age for the rest of your life, what age would you choose?
25. I’m liking it. A lot. 🙂

4. What is your favorite (unused) baby name?
Ooohhh, tough onnnnne. I haven’t used ANY of my baby names yet. It’s hard to pick one. I really like Tali because it’s a combo of Babe’s name and my name. And it doesn’t look or sound a mess like Marvinique, child of Marvin and Monique. *facepalms*
Other than that, I reeeally like Eleni.
There aren’t many boy names that I like. They’re just kinda there. I like the sort of classic, simple names like Matthew and Anthony. Other than that type, I like the offbeat names like Shor.

5. If you could make your child like something what would it be?
My parenting skills. LOL.
Wanna join the Five Question Friday fun? Hop on over here.
Leave a Reply

