A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Randomness

Hey, hey, heyyy! Crazy day after quite the weekend. I just couldn’t let the day go by without a little bit of an update. I have to do it the quick and dirty way though. You’ll see why.

  • Went to FamJam on Sunday. Was fun. Watched football with my brother, and tennis with my dad. We had some pretty good jokes. My family is hilarious. Here’s part of a verbal exchange:
    • Dad: We’re watching the tennis game. Serena’s playing.
    • Brother: Oh. She played Djokovic yet?
    • Dad: Djokovic is a MAN!
    • Brother: So?
    • Me: *laughing* Men don’t play women.
    • Brother: What?! Someone should protest that!
    • Me: All of the feminists are busy right now.
    • Brother: But that’s… That’s… *thinking really hard*
    • Me: Sexist?
    • Brother: YES! That’s sexist!
    • Dad: You ever seen WNBA play the NBA?
    • Brother: *looking at Dad like he’s an idiot* That’s just STUPID!
    • Dad: Ever see a man golfer play a woman golfer?
    • Brother: *frustrated* There’s no such thing as a “women golfer” though!
    • Me: *dying of laughter* WHAT?!
    • Brother: *whispering to me* No such thing as women golfers, right?
    • Me: YES, there ARE!
  • Serena Williams has anger management issues. WOW. The girl acts like a real fool when she’s good and ready. She goes OFFFFFF. Read about Sunday’s outburst here. Remember in 2009, when she said she’s shove the f%$#ing ball down the line judge’s f%$#ing throat? Oh, man. Anyway, Stosur played a HELL OF A GAME!
  • Yesterday was crazy. I had my sister’s Jeep again. YAY! She’s awesome. I got to take her children to school (fun, fun, fun). Whenever we ride together, it’s hilarious. From there, I went back to her place so she could drive to work, then turn the car over to me. Babe couldn’t get out of bed at 6:15am with me, so I had to make a return trip. Typical! Hahaha. Dropped Babe to a hair appointment, and off I went to the local department store (Kelly’s). I got a shower curtain rod (FINALLY!), bath mat (FINALLY), basket to keep our bathroom things in (like toilet paper, feminine products, etc), a new toilet scrub brush and caddy, and a mat for our front door. I was please. Our bathroom is now fit for humans. We love it. I was happy that Babe was happy. I was afraid I would make all of these decisions, and end up with a bathroom that I love and Babe hates. Nope. We’re all good! I’ll borrow the iPhone to take a picture and post it later. One room down, 17 to go (not really)!
  • Got a little talk from the GM at work today. It’s no secret that I hate this job, right? Well, for the first few months, I was bored out of my mind. Work was not coming fast enough, or keeping me busy long enough. Eventually, I learned to drag my feet enough to fill my days with the crappy amount of work I got. Now, it’s super busy. Shipments coming in, items on the floor needing pricing, phones ringing, etc. Too bad I’m still working at the same pace. Anyway, she caught on. So now I have to work to my true potential. At a job I hate. Until I find a new one. Please, can I have a new one?! Can Ride For Hope PLEASE stop advertising the gosh-darn job that should be MINE?! It’s time to really stop running those ads, read those resumes, call me in for an interview, and PICK ME! Sheesh!
  • There are a bunch of things I want. That’s a post all on its own, really.
  • I made a big decision. I’m going to train to run 5k (January or February in Florida). Yep. I used to say that I hated running. I don’t think I ever ran (enough) to really know whether or not I like it. Well, I’m giving myself the chance. And the challenge. A chance and a challenge in one. I found a few training programs. There’s one that I think will work for me. I talked to Babe about it last night. I made it clear that I need full support. And requested, in advance, Babe’s presence when I actually do the 5k. The response was something like, “Of COURSE I’ll be there, Babe! Are you serious?! You think I wouldn’t be there?! I will be there.” That made me smile. So that’s another thing I’ll definitely be posting about, as I make progress, hit walls, yell at myself, make changes to my diet, find cool running gear (see previous post – hahahaha), etc. This is something totally new for me, and I love it. I randomly come up with things I want to do, things to prove to myself, things that are outside of my comfort zone, and then I GO IN FOR THE KILL. Yes, I do. Cheer me on, y’all! I’ll make ya proud. Oh, Babe also said something like, “I’ll support you. I just won’t be out there running with you while you train and stuff. I’m not doing that.” Hahahaha. That is one not-so-into-fitness-or-exercise person I have there. Another quote: “And you have to get a complete physical. So tell me when you’ve seen the doctor.” Meh! Precautions schmercautions! Is that really necessary?! I don’t know. I guess I should do it to be on the safe side, and to make Babe feel comfortable with it.
Hope your week is off to a great start. I’ve had some ups and down already, but it’s a-okay. I’m breathing, and remembering to live. As long as there is life, there is hope, right? 🙂
Comments on: "Randomness" (10)

  1. Haha love that conversation! I actually asked someone why don’t women play men as well but I guess it’s due to physical differences. Hilarious though – no women golfers 🙂

  2. Golf is so boring that no one should play. BUT I do think that men and women should go head to head in golf. It’s not like in basketball where the man is bigger and stronger, it’s hitting balls across grass. Tell your brother I’m protesting this weekend in case he’s interested in joining. :-p

  3. Golf… what’s that?? 🙂

  4. All of my exclamation marks mean that I am completely with you on what you said. Lol.
    My understanding of golf is that it’s walking around with a stick while having conversation (pleasant, or business), occasionally hitting balls. Similar to the way that children occasionally kick rocks as they walk (if they didn’t have sticks and balls).
    And it’s sooo boring to watch. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

