A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Awesome Job, Please?

Okay. First of all, I’m SO happy to have this blog, and a few followers to share these little things with. Thank y’all, and thank you WordPress! 🙂

On to the matter at hand. I’m on the job hunt. Where I am now is pretty boring, and doesn’t pay well at all. It was never supposed to be a permanent situation. I left a job in November, and started working in my great-grandmother’s store. I wanted to spend some time there, and with her, before she closed the business. In January, the doors closed for good. At that point, she called in a favour to get me this job. Just so that I could make a bit of money to be able to survive. Well, 7 months later, here I am. The economy isn’t great. That, and I probably haven’t been as a aggressive as I need to be in this type of market. Well, I’m stepping my game up! About three weeks ago, I went through the entire telephone directory and sent my resume to pretty much every business with a listed website/email address. I had an interview yesterday, and it went pretty well. I’ll hear from them tomorrow, and if I’m short-listed, I’ll have to interview with another person on Friday.I’m not very enthusiastic about the position. It’s a slight improvement from this job – both in duties and pay. Any step up is a step up, right? Also, it’s closer to where I moved to, so I could bike there a bit easier.

So. I found a posting for a job that I REALLY, REALLY want! I hardly ever feel this way about jobs. This one is sort of like it was tailored to suit me. I want it! The position title is “Administrator” and the organization is Ride For Hope Bahamas. A little bit about R4H (straight from their website): The Ride for Hope is a registered charity. Its flagship event is a fund raising bike-a-thon held each Spring in The Bahamas. Participants have called the Ride for Hope “a truly inspiring weekend.” Every dollar raised by participants without exception is applied to the improvement of programs for cancer treatment and patient care. We encourage you to explore our website and then come and join us for the next Ride for Hope!

Basically, this is a marriage of two things I am very passionate about – cycling and cancer research & education. About the job itself… They’re looking for someone to plan the event. They want multi-level planning skills, hands-on leadership, budget creation and maintenance, self-starter, someone who works well with people… Dear, sweet Lord! ME! ME! ME! Can they please pick me?! Nothing could be more perfect for me, and I doubt any candidate would be more perfect for the job than I am. Seriously, where are they going to find someone like me? Hmmm? NOWHERE. NEVER. Let me tell you why I’m awesome for this job:

  • I was Volunteer Coordinator for the Bluenose Marathon (Nova Scotia). I received applications, sorted them (by availability, interests, and people individuals wanted to work/volunteer with), scheduled them, and stayed in constant communication up until the day of the event. I co-planned the pre-marathon volunteer mixer and the post-marathon volunteer party. I also made sure the volunteer lounge was well stocked with snacks, drinks, comfy chairs, etc.
  • I planned and ran a summer day camp. I did all the business planning and presentations. I won a business plan competition which gave me a bit of start-up money. I then applied for a loan which I got after a few rounds of interviews. Then, I set up shop (school/daycare). It was great. Eight fun-filled weeks with 3 classrooms full of energetic, happy children between 5 and 12 years of age. I managed to get teachers and 3rd and 4th year students to staff it. I did this while attending university full-time, and working two part-time jobs on campus.
  • I have a Bachelor of Commerce in Economics.
  • I’ve done business plans for a several businesses.
  • I am a Toastmaster, and I have won speech competitions at the club, area, and division levels. Public speaking is not a problem.
  • I ran a company in Nassau while the principles were in another country for months. I was responsible for regular office management (phones, emails, faxes, etc.), presentations to new clients, maintaining relationships with existing clients, supervision of staff at various locations, etc. I did this a few months after I finish high school and continued until I moved for school two years later.
Basically, I have skills and experience up the WAZOO! It’s all very crazy and random (most of it I haven’t mentioned above), but RELEVANT. They could do nothing but benefit from having me on board. Oh, gosh. Are you convinced? I hope so. I sent my resume, letter of intent, and two reference letters yesterday. (I know my resume is killer, and my letter of intent is no less. Did I mention that I worked in the Career Development Centre in university? My job was to help students create/edit their resumes, write job-specific cover letters, and prepare for interviews.) Babe and I even called/asked around to see if anyone knows the co-founders of R4H. Around here, who you know is important. We found someone, and I submitted everything through him.*fingers crossed* Please, please, please, can I have this perfect job?! PLEASE?!
I’ve come to learn that my place, in the business world, could be anywhere, but where I really want to be is in the not-for-profit sector. It’s so much more meaningful. I spent a lot of my time, when I was in university, volunteering with different organizations.  A few times, volunteering turned into working. It was great.
What is great about R4H is the wide reach that it has. I was most pleased to find out that they are not only dedicated to donating for cancer research, but also for education. It’s important to educate people about the risks, and what can be done to reduce them. Prevention is always better (and cheaper!) than cure, and we need to keep that at the forefront of our minds. I’m thrilled about this and this.
I went to the website today, and they no longer have the call for applications on the front page. I hope that doesn’t mean they found the person they’re looking for already. (It looks like it was only posted on Aug. 31.) I hope it just means they have enough resumes to sift through. I hope. Please hope with me. Hopes, prayers, and positive energy all gladly accepted (and appreciated) here. 🙂
EDIT: Heart palpitations! I just got an email from them saying that the resume file was corrupted, asking me to resend. I resent it. Oh, boy. Now I know they’re still accepting and reviewing resumes. Aaagh!
Comments on: "Awesome Job, Please?" (7)

  1. I hope you get the job you want!! That is exciting 1) you know they are wanting to review your resume and 2) The job hasn’t been filled! 🙂
    Thank you God for providing her with a job she wants! **Just a little bit of positive reassurance** 🙂

  2. Good luck, I hope they recognise your talents!

  3. I hope it goes (or went) well!!!

    I am very lucky to have my dream job!!! Unfortunately, my dream job does not pay much… but I’m happy at work, which is more than most can say.

    Good luck!!!!

    • I would love to have a job that pays me enough (not necessarily a whole bunch of money) to do what I LOVE and I am really good at. I love doing things well, going above and beyond, and being HAPPY. Strange, right? Hahaha.
      That’s great that you love what you do. I’ll get there. Hopefully via THIS job. 🙂

  4. […] I went on and on about this job that I really wanted. Quick catch up for those who didn’t see this post,  this post or this post. I applied through a friend of friend, I got awesome reference letters, I […]

Leave a Reply

