A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

The Storm is Over

I missed Thankful Thursday yesterday. It was a-stormin’ so there was no work, and no internet. I figured it makes sense to cover the storm and the things I’m thankful for all in one go since they’re linked.

Hurricane Irene! I didn’t know about her until Tuesday when I got to work. People were talking about battening down, buying the necessary items, etc. I was ready for a day off. We worked all day on Tuesday, but on Wednesday, we got to leave at 12:30pm. I cycled to my place to get things together. I packed lots of clothes (since I’m clearly staying at Babe’s until we move next week Thursday), and a few canned goods I had. And the flashlight. My sister was supposed to pick me up at 1pm. She missed that part. By 3pm, I’d lost all hope. My brother couldn’t get me. I called Babe who asked if I’d be okay to stay at my place if I found no ride. I said I would, but the conclusion was that it’d be better if we were together, at Babe’s. A few minutes after we hung up and my hope was about gone, Babe called to say my sister was just there. Somehow, she thought she’d be picking me up from there. How? I don’t know. Anyway, the day was saved! She came and got me, and took me to Babe’s. YAY! I’m thankful for my sister, and all the people who care enough to go out of their way to help me and make sure I’m comfortable and safe.

Got to Babe’s, and there was happiness everywhere. We were SO freaking happy to be together. I unpacked the food items I brought along. We decided to eat the perishable stuff before the electricity went off. Leftover spaghetti it was. We watched a a couple of movies and slept. Our sleep patterns were weird. The shutters made it quite dark in the house. I got up first on Thursday morning and made us some breaky. Right before I finished, Babe got up. Perfect timing! We enjoyed breakfast with the door open until I complained about mosquitoes. For some reason, if there is a mosquito anywhere near, it WILL find ME and bite ME. I get horrible red welts from them. They go away as long as I don’t scratch, but they iiiiitch! These days, Babe is pretty much my personal mosquito assassin, killing them very quickly. There is more at stake than pretty skin. Dengue fever is still pretty rampant in the country. We know of three people who have been in hospital with it in the past month or so. Our friend was down with it for almost two weeks. She’s back to work, but still feeling like garbage. I’m thankful for health, and my personal mosquito assassin.

Hurricane photos:

St. Matthew's Anglican Church (where my dad goes)

An uprooted tree that broke through the sidewalk

They started to clear this street up.

One of many fruit stalls on a strip under the bridge.

It doesn't take much to flood the streets on this little, low-lying island with no drainage.

Photo credit: My friend Olivia

There wasn’t much rain (by hurricane standards). More wind that anything else. Tree were uprooted. Fruit from trees were strewn about. Lots of hanging limbs. (This is just the Nassau account. It seems that some of the other islands took a very bad beating. Mayaguana reported 40 damaged homes yesterday. We won’t have a complete assessment for a little while. Relief efforts will likely have to be very widespread (across several islands), and lenghty.) Before daylight this morning, we heard chainsaws going. Cleaning up the streets will definitely take a while. Personal property will take a while to get back together as well. Luckily, Babe’s place is fine. We didn’t suffer. We had enough food and water. The electricity came back on in time for us to sleep in a/c last night, so that was good. There have been times when the whole island has been without power for over a week. We never lost running water. I’m thankful for electricity, running water, drinking water, and enough food to eat.

I had to be to work today. Blah! I don’t know why, really. No one is really going to buy furniture today, right? People need to take down shutters and plywood, assess damage, clean up yards, restock refrigerators… You know… The important things. Nevertheless, I’m at work. I’m thankful that I have a job to go to, and payroll was done early this week. WOO!

I got lots of nice messages of well wishes and concern from my blog friends. Thank you all. They were all well-received and appreciated. I’m thankful for you all – my online family and friends. 🙂

In closing, a note from Jennajadee at We’re Jumpin’. Being Thankful doesn’t have to be about “God.” Being Thankful is about being thankful in what you’ve got. There are people in this world who don’t have clean water, a nice place to sleep, or even a bed to rest their heads. Look around you. What do you have to be thankful for?

Comments on: "The Storm is Over" (2)

  1. thats look pretty bad…

Leave a Reply

