A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Day 20: Your views on drugs/alcohol

I’m not a fan of either one. I feel slightly more strongly about one than the other, but I know that I shouldn’t. Because they’re one in the same. Alcohol is a drug. And it should be viewed as such. But it’s not.

People like to say, “Everything in moderation,” but I like, “Really?! EVERYthing?!” Maybe not. Crystal meth in moderation. Cool beans. NO. NOT REALLY.

Some part me feel like people should stick with what is legal. Drugs are bad. Don’t do any of them. Alcohol is fine. Drink. Get drunk. Get loose. Just don’t drive. But wait. If you’ve had so much to drink that you can’t safely operate a vehicle, you’ve definitely had too much. If you’re doing things you won’t remember tomorrow, and wouldn’t have done if you hadn’t had so much to drink, you’ve had too much. But now… Think about this. What about SUGAR?! Imagine a regular 5 year old. Maybe 20 minutes after a nice, healthy breakfast. Okay. Now imagine the same 5 year old after a birthday party where lots of cake, candy, and ice cream was consumed. That 5 year old is probably doing things he/she wouldn’t do without the encouragement of a sugar rush. He/She has had too much. Bouncing off the walls. Is that any better than a person having too much to drink, and acting out of character? Not really, eh? It’s all unhealthy. So maybe moderation is best. Or maybe we should stay away from all of these things that have the power to take over our systems and turn us into different people.

Anyway, overall, I’m completely against the use of substances that cause harm to the body, mind, or spirit. We need to keep ourselves in the best of health. It’s difficult to know what is best because the rules keep changing. Wheat is good, wheat is bad. There are drugs (medicines) that make people feel better and ease symptoms, but have side effects that could cause death. Who’s to say that’s any better than illegal substances that make a homeless person who feels his/her life has no value feel better able to function and deal with the troubles of the world?

This seems like a question that should have a pretty cut and dry response, but it’s not so simple when you really think about it, is it? Be completely honest. Be logical. Be practical. Be literally. Idealistic, even. Really, truly THINK about it. The only thing you can really be sure of is what seems/feels right FOR YOU.

For me, illegal drugs are not an option. I’m not even down for marijuana. Now, if I had cancer, and it could cure me, or relieve me of horrible death-like symptoms, LIGHT ME UP A JOINT. I’ll smoke it. But I’ve never smoked anything in my life, and don’t plan on it. Alcohol is nothing special to me. I don’t make plans to go out and get “totally wasted” or anything. BUT. I love me some tequila. And I have had a few drunken nights. I much prefer being a little tipsy and remembering the fun I had though. Drunkenness isn’t my best state of being. That’s just me. Probably not the same for you.

 

What do YOU think? Ever done drugs? Do you consume alcohol regularly? Are (illegal) drugs and alcohol much worse than medicinal drugs, sugars, and other things in our diet that seem to be slowly killing us?

Comments on: "How Bad Are Drugs and Alcohol?" (6)

  1. “Be completely honest. Be logical. Be practical. Be literally. Idealistic, even. Really, truly THINK about it. The only thing you can really be sure of is what seems/feels right FOR YOU.”

    i liked that! 🙂

  2. Well… Never even smoked a cigarette. Can you see the halo??? 😛
    No seriously, never used drugs. Which is pretty amazing considering the fact that I live in a country where you can legally buy drugs in a coffee shop. It’s pretty funny, right? If you ever come to the Lands, don’t look for coffee shops. Just take my word for it.

    Alcohol, I stopped drinking. Never been drunk before, but tipsy, yeah…like a bajillion times. Just one sip and that’s enough to get me tipsy. And I don’t even like being tipsy so I stopped drinking. I just don’t want anything to take control of me. I want to be in control.
    I do miss the sip every now and then… but I can live without it.
    Drunken people are sooooooo unattractive. Like seriously… So flippin’ unattractive. So SO unattractive. Alcohol smells bad, their eyes get all red, they start talking ugly like there are elephants sitting on their tongue, and then sometimes they even start vomitting, and they don’t clean it up themselves, and they’re loud, their hair gets all ugly. I don’t know, I don’t like drunk people, can you tell?

    • Oh, Ruthie! You crack me up. You make valid points though. Drunkenness IS pretty ugly. It gets nasty sometimes. Well, MOST times. I’ve never had any drugs either. Or smoked a cigarette. I like it that way. I haven’t had a drink since my birthday in April. I got a little more than tipsy, but less than drunk. I wasn’t sick or anything. I just had a really good time. And lots of things were funny to me. You should see the pictures of me laughing. Do I see myself doing it again any time soon though? Nah.

      You know what I really don’t like about drunk people? The calls and text messages they think are absolutely necessary to make/send that end up making no sense. And the overly-affectionate gestures. Hugs that stop your breathing, and kisses that are really, really wet. Or maybe I like all of that. Hmmm…

  3. I wish governments would be practical and logical around drug laws. Portugal took away criminal penalties for all drugs in 2001 and they have not imploded on themselves. It has actually been successful. Surprise? Not for anyone who works with drug users and understands addiction.

    Statistics for legal drugs and the damage they cause are way higher than illicit drugs. So it is the stuff we are allowed to and is socially acceptable to consume that causes most harm. People misuse drugs for a reason. Yes, there will be some who started using recreationally and then got physically addicted but for the majority there is an underlying factor to their use. Drugs should not be dealt with by the criminal justice system. It is a social and health care issue and should be dealt with accordingly.

Leave a Reply

