A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Food Cravings

If I didn’t know myself, I’d think I’m pregnant. A LOT. I crave food. A LOT. This is no, “Oh, a piece of pound cake would be nice to have later.” No, no. This more… I. WANT. TRIPLE. CHOCOLATE. CAKE. NOW. With whipped cream, chocolate shavings, and sweet strawberries on top. With an oreo chocolate milkshake. NOOOWWW! RAWWWRRR!” These cravings drop out of the sky, and straight into my head. Or is it my heart? My belly? My tastebuds? I don’t know. I just want things. To eat. I like eating.

This is a funnel cake. It looks yummy. I would like one. Or two. Or three. I WAAANNNT! Photo: http://foodbeast.com/content/2009/05/17/craving-funnel-cake/

Yesterday, I was reading other people’s 5QF posts, and more than one person (Jenna and Lisa) mentioned funnel cakes. I’ve heard of funnel cakes once or twice, but have never seen one, let alone tasted one, or thoroughly enjoyed one. Lisa sort of described it, and I think I over-salivated. I HAD to find out more about that goodness the two ladies thought of when asked what they splurge on at state fairs. I found a recipe that I definitely plan to try. I mean, I did a LOT of digging, ok? I looked at a thousand pictures. No, I lied. I only looked at about a twenty (huge lie, I know. Sorry.) because going beyond that point would have been too torturesome! I couldn’t figure out I really liked seeing the pictures and being appetized (made that up, apparently) and such, or if I was killing myself slowly since I don’t have a funnel cake in my desk drawer. I had to stop. But only after I realized that these funnel cake thingies are probably SO great for toppings! Ice cream, apples, nutella, cinnamon, sugar…

It didn’t end there. GUESS WHAT HAPPENED! I freaking suddenly remembered my wonderful days in HALIVILLE (really, it’s just Halifax)! There’s this awesome pastry called a beavertail. I’d been in the city for 3 or 4 years before I learned about this amazing goodness. I was working with a young organization, and the youth were talking about what they’d spend their treat money on. Options were ice cream, beavertails, and random things I don’t remember.

I was like, “Sorry, what? A what?”

Jenn said, “A BEAVERTAIL!”

Me: [Blank stare]

Jenn: “Alicia. YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT A BEAVERTAIL IS?!” [shocked face] *runs around telling people Alicia doesn’t know what a beavertail is*

Everyone: [In complete disbelief or unable to comprehend]

GA: “Wait. So you’ve NEVER had a beavertail?”

Me: [nervous] Nooo…

GA:”OH! MY GOD!”

Well, needless to say, I was taken straight to the Beavertails shack to get one. OH. MY. GOSH.

SO. FREAKING. GOOD.

The Beavertail people are GENIUS! You can get different toppings. Cinnamon and sugar. Chocolate and banana (this one has NUTELLA!). Maple butter. Score (the chocolate/candy). Apple cinnamon. Ooooh, my gosh. I. NEEEEEED. A BEAVERTAIL!

CAN ANYONE HELP ME?! PLEASE?!

 

Comments on: "Food Cravings" (8)

  1. The funnel cake looks so good…the icing is so inviting! I love eating icing donuts 🙂

  2. hahaha I never had a Beavertail either!!!! What am I missing 😮 Never even heard of it 🙂 bbuuuttt ohhhh myyyy gooooshhhhh a Funnel Cake, made yourself 😮 with melted chocolate YUMMY!!!!

    • You don’t know how much I need it in my life! I think I’ll make one to celebrate when Babe and I move into our new place (which should be next month).

      I think Beavertails are a Canadian thing. If you ever cross that border, scout around for one. Sooo worth it!

      Sent from my BlackBerry® wireless device available from BTC.

  3. Hi! Thank you for following my rarely visited blog. 😉 It made me happy. I love food blogs and I’m sure I’m gonna enjoy your blog. I will check out posts over the next days. 🙂

    Thanks again and have a great day!

  4. I get these cravings too, and I’m pretty sure I’m not pregnant! Today’s craving was cookies. Big choc ones Mmm

Leave a Reply

