A random, eclectic mix of thoughts, feelings, observations, and experiences – LIFE

Day 10 – Someone you need to let go or wish you didn’t know

My hands are always full. There’s no room to hold on to anything I don’t want or need. If it’s not good for me, I just drop it in favour of something better. Even if it’s just being able to hold on, more comfortably, to things I already have. I’m not one of those hanging-on people. I just can’t do it. As a matter of fact, I may be the type to let go of things prematurely. I just don’t like waste. Time, energy, resources… All too precious and limited. Must not be wasted.

I’m thinking really hard about this as I type. Is there someone? [5 minute pause] I really don’t think there is. I try to keep it clean and simple. It’s important that we sit in the driver’s seat of our lives. Not only to sit there and look like we’re in charge, but to really drive it. Like a car. Steer the wheel. Swerve out of the way (as safely as possible) when something’s coming at you that you really don’t need to crash into. Stop at the red light, and watch traffic go in the other direction. Take time to think about which way you’ll go. Get to 4-way stops where you follow the rules and let other people move first if they beat you there. Use OnStar if you really need some help, but keep your own thinking cap (driving goggles?) on. Be in control. Drop people off at their destinations. Don’t feel like you have to take them along for the entire ride. That’s really the key, isn’t it? Ever sat in the driver’s seat, but realized that a PASSENGER was taking YOU for a ride? Ha! No bueno!

Are you catching my drift? Is this making sense? My ride is so sweet; a lot of people wanna get a ride. I’m okay with running the occasional taxi service, but I get to decide on the route we’re taking, and when it’s time to get out… Buddy, get outta the car.

Anyone who needed to be kicked (left on) the curb has been already. There may be people riding my car now that will have to be dropped off at the next destination. Who knows?! I don’t, at this point, so for now, I’m enjoying the view as we take on these rolling hills, feeling the wind whip through my (1cm long) hair. Everyone still in the vehicle can fasten their seatbelts and keep their hands inside. They may be in it for the long haul.

Comments on: "Please Keep Yours Hands in the Vehicle (Day 10 of 30 Days of Truth)" (4)

  1. theladyinredink said:

    Another great analogy! Although I giggled a little at “My ride is so sweet, a lot of people wanna get a ride.” I’ve got such a gutter mind sometimes!

  2. 🙂
    To be honest, I giggled AS I typed that. Hahahaha. A friend of mine often says, “If it weren’t for the gutter, my mind would be homeless.” I have to agree with her sometimes.

  3. […] let go (wheniride.wordpress.com) Someone I wish I didn’t know (meetmyanarchy.wordpress.com) Please Keep Hands in the Vehicle […]

  4. 🙂 I had a giggle too!!! Thanks for that!

Leave a Reply

